5. Thai Spice!

I think I’ve caught a case of the death.  I’ve narrowed it down to either that, allergies, severe lack-of-boyfriend prospects depression or Lyme disease.  (You know how on House, MD they always think it’s Lupus?  In the Hudson Valley, any unclear symptoms are Lyme disease.)  Either way, I left work early on Friday and slept for about 14 hours, which got me a good enough recovery to make it to Sunday night when the death caught up with me again.  I begrudgingly interrupted part of that bliss of sleep to run necessary errands on Friday, and I’m so glad I did.  While driving back from the eye doctor’s office, I almost stopped short at the sight of something that brought tears to my red, itchy eyes.

A Thai restaurant, not 8 minutes from my home.

And just when I was wondering if I should stay in the Hudson Valley to continue my 30 activities project, or go back to New York City to find my fortunes again, the Squirt Bottle God send me a message from heaven.  This place is a stone’s throw from Vassar College (if you have a really good arm), which is a catapult toss and a short drive’s distance from my home.  It’s next door to a sushi place and in the former location of Fortune Cooky, a Chinese take-out place that caught on fire a year ago.  I’m not sure what the cause was, but I wouldn’t be surprised if it was arson at the hands of grammar and spelling fanatics.  Either way, they kept the pretty mural on the side of the building that depicts panda bears eating fortune cookies.  (I keep forgetting to bring my camera places, I owe you a picture of that.)

I pulled over, despite the pounding headache, and got my mind set on some Phad Thai, my very favorite take-out food that previously could not be had without a 20 to 30 minute drive out of town. But I jumped the gun.  Thai Spice, my new favorite place in the world, was not actually going to be officially in business until Saturday.  I think that’s another reason I slept for 14 hours.  There was no point in being awake until I could get my fix.  And when I finally did:

Delicious.  I picked up my food, and the dude at the register, was all, “do I know you from somewhere?” and I was all, “yeah, I was the crazed dying girl who came in here on Friday and got a menu.  Please remember my face, as I will be here about once a week.”

And yes, Amstel Light is the perfect companion to take out and spending a hot, steamy night in with DVD’s.

26 responses to this post.

  1. If your death sickness came with snots, lots and lots of snots then we totally had the same thing.

  2. Now I am starving specifically for Thai food that I do not have the time to get on my lunch break. THANKS.

  3. I was already thinking I needed some Thai food for lunch, and I think you have confirmed it!

    I hope you feel better from the Lupus/Lyme disease soon.

  4. I have never had Thai food, but I do know that sometimes there is nothing better than satisfying a takeout craving that you’ve had for a long time. It’s usually either Chinese or Mexican for me.

  5. Oh, I’m so jealous! We don’t have anything other than bad Italian restaurants near our house.

    I’m being treated for Lyme disease right now (I apparently brought back a souvenir from our trip). I feel like I could sleep for three years and still be tired. Ick. I hope you’ve just got a 48 hour bug or something and you’ll feel better soon.

  6. Posted by nancypearlwannabe on June 9, 2008 at 11:13 am

    Having Lyme disease sounds totally worth it if it means getting to sleep for 14 hours and then getting Thai food.

  7. Posted by lizgwiz on June 9, 2008 at 11:49 am

    Mmm…pad thai. Well, now you’ve got the entire internet craving Thai food! (I can personally never go near my favorite Thai restaurant without also getting their “golden tofu” with “special peanut sauce.” Oh god…now my mouth is REALLY watering.

  8. last night i had two pieces of peanut butter toast and a glass of wine for dinner. your pad thai and beer is way normal!

    also im going to a thai place on thursday night. it’s called ty fun and i’m so excited! yay!

  9. Yum! Now I’m hungry!

    A guy I used to work with used to always say he had scurvy.

  10. Ooooh, I LOVE Thai food. It’s a good thing you didn’t discover that restaurant during Vegan March. That would have been torture.

    Must find Thai food now.

  11. I heart Thai food. Glad Po-town finally got a good place! If you like Spanish food, you should definitely check out Castillo Espanol…they have amazing sangria and paella.

    Hope you’re feeling better!

  12. Someone really needs to resurrect “Fortune Cooky” because that is the best name for a Chinese place I’ve ever heard.

  13. Posted by Jennifer M. on June 9, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    We had a dictionary in my third grade classroom that said it was okay to spell cookie with a “y” (if I were really cool I would have written cookie in the phonetic alphabet, but yeah, not happening). The reason being that the “ie” ending is what happens when you need to add an “s” to a word that ends in “y”, so the singular is cooky and the plural is cookies. But since no one can eat just one cooky, the word was always plural and then just ended up cookie.

    Of course, famously (well to a third grader anyway), this dictionary also defined “fart” as a small explosion between the legs. . . I’m serious, it really did (maybe it was small expulsion between the legs, but that’s not how I remember it and as the guy told Jimmy Stewart’s character in that movie: when the legend becomes fact, print the legend)

  14. Oh, Thai food! Be still my poor, starving heart. And yeah, please provide a panda picture.

  15. The fire … these people were probably responsible: http://www.jeffdeck.com/teal/team.html

  16. I remember when I was living out in the burbs and discovered there was actually a decent thai restaurant in town I almost cried from happiness. Actually, finding any restaurant that wasn’t a chain was an excuse to rejoice, but good thai takeout just makes everything seem better.

  17. Mmm… that Thai food and that cold beer look divine!

  18. oh, yum, pad thai.

    years and years ago i lived in a small town that had no ethnic restaurants except the ubiquitous and dubious “chinese.” i had never had pad thai. i had never heard of pad thai.

    a friend moved to new york city. she wrote me. “there was a guy selling pad thai right on the street!”

    she sounded so shocked, that i could only conclude that “pad thai” was some kind of marijuana.

    but now i know: it’s better than marijuana!

  19. mmm.. looks like yummy pad thai – we had some sat. nite with chicken curry from my fav. thai restaurant about a 10 min drive from my house.
    the beer looks good too!

  20. Posted by FDP on June 9, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    Oh how I miss Thai!! AND Amstel Light…I miss them both, they don’t have to be together, but I’d love to be able to get either over here…sign, the Hudson Valley has one up on The Alps!

  21. I felt the same way when an Indian restaurant came to my dreary little city. Hopefully next will be Thai!

    Enjoy your pad thai. I’ll just drool from over here.

  22. I love pad thai like no other! And now I really want some, thanks!

  23. I am a big fan of kua gai noodles. Yum! Is there an Indian place near you?

  24. Pad Thai is my favorite, too!

    And I promise, I was nowhere near that Chinese place.

  25. YUM. That makes me hungry.

  26. Now I have to go find some Thai food!

Leave a Reply

