Archive for June 12th, 2008

Come on down!

My next door neighbors (the ones who live in the John Lennon slept here farmhouse) are moving out at the end of the month. I’m saddened to the point of grieved about this. They are exceptionally great neighbors, and I’m not hopeful that someone as cool will take their place.

Because they want to purge their stuff before they go, we are having a moving sale on Friday and Saturday. Even though I’m staying put for another year, I think it’s a good idea to jettison some of the stuff that I never want to move to a new home. Last night, I went to pricing some of my personal treasures, and I got stuck on a few items, unsure of their value in a free market.

So you, blog reader, are the next contestant on “The Price is ????”!!!! What in the world would you pay for the following…

Shower stool. Good for the elderly who have trouble standing in showers or the 30-somethings who have broken their ankles. I paid $35 for it at the pharmacy and got a few week’s worth of use out of it before I was able to stand on my own two feet. So the question is: is it worth less because my bare ass has been on it, or is it worth more because my bare ass has been on it?

Okay, so this is a 2005 calendar. That does not help anyone. I’ll give you that. But it’s super glossy and huge, and the pictures are quite beautiful. Would anyone pay for 12 black and white photos, suitable for framing? (if you get the frame your damn self?)

Mookie Wilson bobblehead doll. I will never have a more favorite baseball player than the Mets’ own 1st baseman, #1, Mookie Wilson. Even though the glory days of ’86 are long over, he had a brief stint as the 1st base coach for the Brooklyn Cyclones. And to celebrate, the Cyclones held bobblehead giveaway day. I can’t remember who I dragged to the game with me (probably Birmingham) but I made sure to get to that game an hour before the start so I could be one of the first 2,500 fans to get the doll. But you know what? It’s been sitting in that styrofoam case ever since. Time to go, Mooks. Thanks for the memories. But at what price?

UPDATE: He’s currently $10.50 on Ebay

This nail art thing was fun for a while, but it weighs more than most 3rd graders, and I don’t want to move it again. I gave it a little Michelle Obama fist-bump to make it look more friendly. At what cost, freedom?

Wilson Phillips. On Tape. Yeah, so here’s the thing. I’m 30. That means I came of age in the late 80’s and early 90’s, right before CD’s became the preferred conveyor of music and right after records got abandoned. Most of my bad album purchases were actually bad CD Cassette purchases, and you better believe that I was willing to hit “stop” and “rewind” and “play” over and over just to hear “Hold On” one more time and remember the night that Ryan MacGregor slow danced with me at summer camp.

But is that worth anything to anyone? Not pictured: “Genisis’s “No Son of MIne” on cassette single, EMF’s “Unbelievable” on cassette single, and a whole lot of mix tapes that took a whole lot of hours away from my high school and college education.

Speaking of tapes. Seriously, why do I have this? When I was old enough for this kind of stuff, they were still putting things out on record. Oh wait. Look closer. It’s autographed. By Shari Lewis!

Forget it. There’s just some stuff you can’t sell.