Scattershot

My brain’s halfway on vacation already, and I’m assuming that it’s the same for many of you, even though for most of us, “vacation” just means having off on Friday.  So why not a little randomness?

A. I just started reading a book called “Wrack and Ruin,” because a friend of mine at Norton told me that it was the literary equivalent of the show “Weeds.”  Also, it’s about a guy who grows Brussels Sprouts, and that’s the one vegetable that is still growing in my garden so I figured I could relate.  In the first page of the book, there’s mention of a person who wreaks havoc.  And it got me thinking, does anyone ever wreak anything other than havoc?  I can’t think of another use of the word, and that thought completely distracted me from the book.  Can ya’ll think of anything?

Segundo. I found a way to bike faster: Impending rain.  And a way to bike even faster than that: Thunder and lightning on the horizon.  Similarly, I found a way to swim faster: I want to get away from the guy in my lane who makes inappropriate comments.  Therefore, I paced myself to keep up with lane 3.

III. I’m going to SisterAlyson’s for the fourth of July, which means super sweet Lola time and a stellar view of the fireworks from her apartment, which faces the East River.  Also, my parents will be there, which means free food and love.  But not “free love” in the hippie way, you sickos.

4. I saw the movie “The Wind that Shakes the Barley” last night.  I can’t remember why it was in my queue, but it probably had something to do with me being on a Cillian Murphy kick, which is also why I rented the super-freaky “Sunshine” a few months ago.  It was a rather depressing tale of the I.R.A. in 1920’s County Cork, Ireland.  And here I thought it was going to be an upbeat light comedy about the I.R.A. in 1920’s County Cork, Ireland.

Epilogue. The cats.  I’m not sure how that’s going to work out.  Micki is not doing well at establishing her role as alpha cat.  I opened the door to the living room where Lucy was sequestered, and Micki walks up to the doorway and growls and hisses and runs away.  Meanwhile, Lucy just sits on the couch and shrugs.  I let Lucy walk around the cottage freely, but she keeps going back to the living room, where she likes to sit on her blanket and look out the window.  I tried to get them in close contact by bringing Micki into the living room.  She didn’t attack Lucy like I was afraid she would, but she growled and hissed and then hid under the furniture.  Lucy just sort of looked at her like she was being silly.  So did I.  While I’m away from the house for the day, I keep Lucy in the living room with the door closed, just in case one of them wants to try something.  But when I’m home, they seem to stick to the living room / rest of the house arrangement, where Lucy is all warm and snuggly and adorable, and Micki represses any memory of another cat being around.  That is, until she encounters Lucy’s brush, and hisses at it.

23 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lizgwiz on July 3, 2008 at 9:43 am

    My vet always says to give them at least a couple of months to get used to each other. Which is hard, of course, because you want them snuggling like a Hallmark card instantly, but sometimes it takes a while.

    I think months is what it will take.

  2. My experience with cats has been that although new cat “friends” sometimes hiss and swat at each other as though they would tear each other apart if you left them alone, they don’t. My dad’s wife brought a cat into his already two cat household. One of the original cats hated that cat with a passion, and never stopped hating it. BUT, they cohabitated. They stayed out of each other’s way and hissed as warranted.

    When we added a dog to our cat only household, the cats were rarely seen for a couple days. I was afraid we had ruined their living arrangements. Within a few weeks, they were tolerating each other, and occasionally were friendly with one another.

    I just looked up at my bulletin board where I used to have a picture of my now deceased cat on the couch with the dog. The picture is gone…where the heck did it go? There are tons of pictures of my son (of course), and one picture of hubby with another cat…weird. Oh well, I digress…

    Huh, the case of the missing cat picture.

  3. How does a guy even make inappropriate comments while he’s swimming?

    Is he Aqua Man?

    Well, we stop for rest at the shallow end and whatnot.

  4. Like Weeds?? I am soo on top of that.

    I don’t know if it’s published yet…

  5. Posted by nancypearlwannabe on July 3, 2008 at 11:46 am

    We just watched The Happening last night and I was so bored I WANTED plant neurotoxins in my brain.

    Sorry about the kitties. It took my parents cats more than a month to get used to the new one.

    I tried to warn everyone that The Happening was bad…

  6. I’m still pondering the whole “wreak havoc” thing…

    I admit I didn’t ponder it that long before just putting it there on the blog.

  7. Well you can wreak havoc AND destruction. A slight variation but a variation none-the-less.

    I love the show Weeds so much. Except Season Three was a little…what’s the word? Slutty? I couldn’t believe when she slept with her boss. I wanted to smack the shit out of her.

    Destruction, that’s right! I forgot about that one.

  8. It will take them a little while to get along, especially if they are 2 girls. My friend has 2 girl cats and even though they get along better than before, they still hiss at each other every once in a while. They just need some time to get used to each other, then they will be alright.

    Good luck with them and happy 4th!

    They’re not two girls, they’re two bitches.

  9. It can take up to 8 weeks (or more) to acclimate cats – it’s not easy for them to understand they need to share their space. Keep the faith. I applaud that you brought the new cat in your life.

    I think you’re right on that time frame. And this second cat, I’ve always thought she’s a cutie.

  10. Posted by deutlich on July 3, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    Yeah.. I don’t think I’m going to be able to do ANYthing productive today. Like. At all.

    I had shit to get done, but my heart wasn’t in it.

  11. Posted by Michelle on July 3, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    I know you don’t think it… but your cats are funny little characters. I like them. I’d adopt a cat if my roommate’s cat wouldn’t eat it. 🙂

    I think they’re funny! I get much enjoyment out of them. I just wish they would get enjoyment out of each other.

  12. We just watched Sunshine last night. You are right, super-freaky but I really enjoyed it.

    I expected it to be freaky, being Danny Boyle, but I was shocked at how freaky.

  13. When I was a kid and we got a second cat, the vet told us to spray perfume on both cats so they would smell like each other and think they were from the same litter (even though they were both adult cats) and then they would get along.

    Aside from having crabby, whore-y smelling cats, there was no real result.

    The fact that yours are mostly just going to separate corners actually seems promising. Much better than regular death matches.

    I love the idea of whore-y cats!

  14. Posted by Sarah on July 3, 2008 at 1:37 pm

    I heard that Weeds just started up again. Will have to find a way to procure the new episodes…

    I’ve got season 1 in my queue.

  15. im totally in vacation mode right now too! ugh only a few more minutes and im otta here!

    have a great weekend

    You too!

  16. Enjoy the 4th in the big city. Maybe your cats can bond patriotically over the weekend — have you considered dressing them in matching flag outfits?

    Once again, a brilliant idea from Brando.

  17. That happened to me when I inherited my mom’s cat and she met my kitty. Mom’s cat did not like my kitty.

    Now they are the bestest of friends. It will happen.

    I’ll keep my fingers crossed.

  18. Posted by shane on July 3, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    One can also wreak vengeance. Not that I ever have or would.

    No, never.

  19. I guess wreak can mean inflict too, so you can wreak pain, sadness, heartbreak, stenches if you ate too many brussel sprouts and they happen to cause you gas 🙂

    It’s the Kitty Wars. Hope the Lightside wins or some such. It’d be funny if you came by another cat and named it Yoda and he was the answer to keeping the peace.

    I could use a yoda kitty right now.

  20. For absolutely not logical reason (at least not to me), this made me want to read A Wrinkle In Time.

    And listen to the Dropkick Murphy’s but I can find logic in that.

    Because what occasion is a bad occasion for reading A Wrinkle In Time?

  21. I just did a Google search, and nearly every instance of the word “wreak” is followed by “havoc.” So if there is another use for it, the Internet isn’t using it.

    Thanks for that bit of research. Now the next question is: is “havoc” ever used without it being “wreaked”?

  22. I still have not seen Weeds, but all the cool people–including you–seem to love it! On the queue it goes.

  23. Posted by Aaron on July 12, 2008 at 11:46 am

    Haven’t seen TWTSTB, but as a side note, I just want to publicly mention once again my non-sexual, perfectly heterosexual man-crush on Cillian Murphy. The dude is aesthetic perfection. Yes, yes.

Leave a Reply

