Good Blogkeeping

I would be remiss if I didn’t first mention that tomorrow is the return of Choose Your Own Blogventure day.  So if you’re logging in to find out about what’s going on at the Daily Tannenbaum, what you’re going to find instead is part three of a story that originated at Nancy Pearl Wannabe and continues on to two other sites behind me.  It’s all great fun, although I wrote my story in the span of 10 minutes after getting a “your part of the story is late” reminder email from NPW.  So apologies in advance if it’s a bit nonsensical and/or completely cobbled out of elements from other stories and books I’ve read lately.

In other news, I swam in the Hudson river on Tuesday morning.  I was going to blog about it, but I wasn’t able to take any good pictures, so I’ll have to give you a full recount next time I do it.  I made it the full mile up the river and back again without any major difficulty beyond one leg cramp and some wayward river greenery, but today I’m feeling the effects of a sudden allergy-like attack.  I’m hoping that is in no way related to swimming in the Hudson River…

And also unrelatedly, I got called for a Gallup Poll yesterday.  I was under the impression that they didn’t call people on cell phones, meaning that the opinions of me and the other 2% of the world who are cell-phone only didn’t count.  I suppose that notion was wrong, or else I just gave a lot of personal information to a ner’-do-well who now knows my height, weight, approximate stress level, income, amount of fruits and vegetables I eat in a day, and the fact that hell yes, I am voting for Obama.  Either way, I’m pretty stoked to be counted in a poll even though I think poll results are not as important as results of actual actions.  It must be all this blogging that’s got me feeling all proud and important about my opinions.

Looking forward into the future, I’ve got one hella busy weekend where I’ll be going down to the city for a haircut and friendseeing and then back up for dual cookouts (each an hour away from each other), possible Saturday night camping, definite Sunday morning laundry, and then I’m away on Monday for a work event that has my stress levels up to a point where I’m afraid a Gallup pollster might think that I’m an actual stressful person.  But then I’ll shake it all off with a Hudson River swim on Tuesday morning, provided it doesn’t rain, filling the water with nasty sewage overflow.  Can’t hardly wait!

13 responses to this post.

  1. Holy crap, you swam in the Hudson? That’s crazy!

  2. Wow, you are one brave soul. I went jet skiing there once and was afraid my legs would disintegrate. But that was also like 8 years ago.

    Thanks for talking about the CYOB. I totally would have forgotten to post it.

  3. You swam a whole mile in the Hudson River?!? That would be a long way to swim in any body of water, let alone one with a current. I am so impressed!

  4. Winning medals, swimming the Hudson river, making your own goulash recipe… What WILL our girl Christmas Christmas Tree do next? I don’t know, but I’m sure it will be equally impressive and fascinating.

  5. I’m definitely going to need some play by play on this river swimming thing, because right now I’m totally grossed out by the thought of swimming in a substantial river.

  6. I didn’t even think you could swim in the Hudson–how cool is that?

  7. That is seriously cool that you swam in the Hudson. Awesome.

    We’re cell-only people too. It’s nice to know we’re represented!

  8. I’m cell only too, but I don’t answer it if a name doesn’t pop up, plus I’m so indecisive about the whole election anyhow.

  9. Posted by nancypearlwannabe on July 31, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    I swam yesterday in Walden Pond and I was simultaneously grossed out about swimming in a pond and tired from actually doing an activity that required movement.

    I can’t imagine swimming against something like a current, up a river like the Hudson.

    We’re cell-only as well!

  10. Posted by deutlich on July 31, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    You swam in THE HUDSON?!?!

  11. A mile is a long way to swim, especially in open water!

    Also, I, too was under the impression that we cell users were not polled. Maybe Gallup will call me next!

  12. Wow, lots of great activities there. I just said to a friend that i can tell the sun is in Leo because of all the activity and social events.

  13. Wow, I’m impressed with your swimming.

    Even though in my mind the Hudson is full of sewage and other nasty shit. Only beause I’m picturing the Chicago River.

Leave a Reply

