10. The Towne Crier

“The problem is that I’m seated and sober.” – Birmingham

As I was saying yesterday, the key to being happy and single is to keep doing stuff.  So when Birmingham invited me to see The Young Dubliners on Wednesday night, I had to go.  In hindsight, I should have probably taken a few moments to text every person I know in the area to invite them along, because not a lot of people show up to a rock concert at 7:30 on a Wednesday night in Pawling, NY.  There were 16 of us in the audience and 6 of them in the band, and until some late-comers showed up to round out the 16, it looked like the band was going to be outnumbered.  Also, the Dubs put on one hell of a great show and I’d love other people to know about them.

If you want to know more about the band including a video, I’ll give you the link to my post from last St. Patrick’s Day.  You’ll also notice that back then I had quite a different take on singledom than I did yesterday, so I guess these things are fluid.

Last night we ventured to The Towne Crier, a place I’ve never actually been to because Pawling, NY seems  just far away enough to be far away.  Although it only took us about 40 minutes to get there, the local radio station did fade out as we traveled over hill and vale.

The strange thing about this venue compared to other concerts I’ve been to is that it’s actually a restaurant with tables that face the stage, and no standing room.  I’ve always associated seeing the Young Dubliners with bouncing around the dance floor like a crazed white girl, so it was strange.  It also made us feel compelled to order food with our Guinnesses since we were sitting at tables with classy white napkins.  So instead of burning off calories with my insane dance stylings, I packed them back on by getting the nachos, which were delicious, and possibly worth the drive in and of themselves.

Of the four times I’ve seen the band, this was the most mellow, probably because of the seating which is better suited to a folk singer or maybe an acoustic guitarist.  Also, this show was at the end of a whirlwind tour, (including a show in August where all of their gear was stolen out of a van) and they seemed a little tired.  Having only a dozen people sitting in the audience probably didn’t do much for the energy, either.

Next time they come around, we’ll first make sure that there’s a place to dance in front of the stage, and then we’ll call all our friends and invite them along.  And if I’m ever in Pawling again, I know where to find a nice intimate show and some nachos.  And maybe get a better camera than my cell phone to document the outing:

12 responses to this post.

  1. Well, the nachos sound tasty. I haven’t had nachos in a while…

    I’m hungry this morning.

    There should be some blog rule about not writing about food before lunch.

  2. Yeah, I have no idea how the Towne Crier stays in business. They always have great shows there, but no one ever goes, and you never hear about them until afterwards.

    I’ve always sort of meant to go, but Pawling is kind of out there.

  3. Posted by nancypearlwannabe on September 25, 2008 at 11:12 am

    I love the name Towne Crier. Probably because it sounds very New England- all you need is a Ye Olde in front of it.

    It does, but the place actually has a Southwestern feel.

  4. The Young Dubliners are a great band. I’d love to see them but they haven’t come to New Hampshire yet. Bummer.

    They recently had their all equipment stolen so it’s good to know they got it replaced and are still playing.

    They are worth a trip to see if they’re ever in New England.

  5. The right (or wrong) venue can make all the difference. For example, when I saw Iron & Wine a while back, it was in a big, noisy, crowded club full of drunks. You know–an environment much better suited to the Young Dubliners. In that case, a table with white napkins would have been preferable for what was a decidedly low-key, mellow show.

    The show could have used one or two drunks, but not a whole crowd of them.

  6. Being seated and sober is never fun. I’m seated and sober right now and it sucks.

    I hear ya, sister.

  7. I feel sad for the band only having a few people in the audience!

    Yeah, it’s depressing. Kind of like the turnout for this post. I’m going to have to come up with something more discussion-worthy tomorrow.

  8. Oh wow! I used to play open mike at The Towne Crier back in the day. It’s an interesting place.

    Now I want nachos.

  9. That post just made me crave nachos and the desire to not be sober and seated…

  10. I will be back to read in a bit, but I wanted to tell you that Oldest Daughter made it to America!! I am going to show her the link when her AMAZING AMOUNT of homework is done.

    Thanks for the info!!

  11. You want to talk about disappointing comment turnout, Christmas Tree? Because I’ve been (thus far successfully) holding in a rant on my blog this week about no longer having commenters.

    But re: your post. The venue does make all the difference. As a tangent, it’s kind of sad when a band you like crosses a certain threshold of popularity and you know you’ll never again be able to see them in a tiny club. Because really? I’m sure as shit not going to some mid-to-large sized venue to listen to a bunch of asshats sing along to “Chasing Cars”.

  12. I remembered the video from St. Patrick’s Day… and went to watch it anyway. They are really good. I am a mzed that they didn’t have a good turnout. My husband would LOVE to have that CD. I may look for it as a Christmas Gift.

    We are rolling toward the weekend!!! I hope you have a good one.

Leave a Reply

