Still, small voice

There are very few things about my religious upbringing that I think about very often.  But it can’t be denied that 20 years of Sunday School is going to have some kind of affect.  Of the handful of things from church that I liked, one was the concept of the “still, small voice.”  In short, if you’re grappling with something or unsure of what to do, stop and listen, and the voice will guide you.

In my time of belief, I would have said it was God speaking to me.  Now I like to think of it more as “my conscience” or better yet, “the voice of reason.”  Sometimes, in moments of whimsy, that voice takes the shape of Jiminy Cricket.

The challenge for the believer is to listen for that voice, and follow the instructions it gives.  It usually knows the right thing to do, and it will try and keep you from doing the wrong thing.  It’s a good system for decision making until you decide that you know better.

For instance, I should have listened to the still, small voice when it told me that I shouldn’t put my brand new mint vanilla reed diffuser on top of the toilet, balancing precariously on a barely level surface two meters off the ground in a home with two of the fightin’-est cats this side of the Mississip.  But no, I said.  It will be fine.  If I put a glass filled with perfume and some sticks on top of the toilet, The cats wouldn’t dare take the fight there, especially if it’s right below this tempting open window and above their litter box!

You can probably guess what I knew happened the moment I walked in the door and smelled my apartment.

You win this round still, small voice.  Perhaps, before I venture back out to replace the reed diffuser, I’ll listen to you telling me, “your allergies and subsequent asthma are often triggered by the smell of perfume, and maybe after Saturday night, you might not want to reintroduce that form of odor into your home.”  Actually, you don’t need to tell me twice.  Everything in my home, including my hyper-allergenic cats is mint vanilla scented at the moment and it’s causing me to aaaa…. aaaaachoooooo!

23 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by alliesanswers on October 6, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    Oh no! I guess it’s better than having them fight in the garbage.

    Hope you stop sneezing soon!

    I was smart enough to keep the garbage in the cabinet under the sink.

  2. LOL you poor thing. Get yourself some benadryl and tae it before bed time so you can get a good night sleep free from allergies!

    I was on Claritin, but now I blame that for the fact that I skipped the allergies and went right to asthma.

  3. As they say, hindsight is all Lasik and shit. Better luck next time, I guess.

    It’s true. And I hope this blog may be a warning to others.

  4. Posted by sadieandleo on October 6, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    Oh no! Sorry about that!

    I need to listen to that voice more often too!

    Tis helpful in a pinch, it is.

  5. My inner voice sounds like Gob Bluth. It’s pretty awesome.

    Come on!

  6. LOL Best example of the still small voice winning out EVER, this made me spill my tea because of my giggling!

    Hope your cats have sufficiently aired out!

    At least they don’t smell like poo….

  7. God Bless you or…er…may the still small voice keep you safe and sound forever and ever. Amen!

    However you want to label it, for reals.

  8. Posted by Pants on October 7, 2008 at 12:53 am

    Rascally cats! They weren’t listening to the still, small voice.

    I’m having some stress right now…maybe I’ll listen to the still, small voice?

    They have no concept of morality. And yeah, listen for that voice, even if it tells you a shot of whiskey is called for.

  9. I like the concept of a small, still voice. Somehow, in 13 years of Catholic school, we never covered the concept. Will have to try it the next time I have to make a decision.

    I can see how that doesn’t quite fit into the ritual of Catholicism.

  10. My son started coughing like crazy at Goodyear Tires. It’s a good thing we don’t keep tires in the house, because I’m pretty sure that’s a trigger for him.

    I can think of a couple of other good reasons not to keep tires in the house….

  11. Posted by ladyrock on October 7, 2008 at 8:36 am

    I think it’s a sign of your passing into sainthood. Three sneezes in a row is all it takes.

    Try amber oil, it soothes the crap out of me. Poetic, isn’t it?

    Sainthood, eh? Amber oil, eh? Poetic, eh?

  12. I prefer my inner voice to sound like Mr. T.

    And if it makes you feel any better, it was really pretty right there. I noticed it and Mr. T. said, “wow, how cute.”

    I pity the fool that makes me sneeze.

  13. Posted by lizgwiz on October 7, 2008 at 10:00 am

    Yeah, I’m pretty sure the only thing my cats’ still, small voices ever say is “You buy it, we break it.” Heh.

    Devious suckers, they are.

  14. Posted by nancypearlwannabe on October 7, 2008 at 10:03 am

    No worries. My inner voice was telling me that a Cornballer would be an excellent idea. Wait, is my inner voice ALSO Gob Bluth?

    I’m going to see if mine can sound like George Michael.

  15. my constant whining tends to drown out that still, small voice. but right now that job’s being taken care of by an incessant jackhammer.

    Is that a literal jackhammer?

  16. Oh, how I hate when I don’t listen to my own still, small voice! Poor you!

    I hate it even more when it’s right.

  17. It would be so awesome to have an inner voice that s0unds like Gob Bluth. Or Jiminy Cricket, for that matter. I should know what mine sounds like, but I rarely listen to it.

    Any inner voice that can do impressions would be cool.

  18. Somehow, in 13 years of Catholic school, we never covered the concept.

    Yes, my small voice was making jokes that cracked me up during mass and got me in trouble.

    I bet your inner voice was on overdrive.

  19. Thanks for stopping by! I’ve been reading around your blog, and I’m crying I’m laughing so hard at your boob-to-belly ratio post. And I really needed to laugh, pre-debate and all.

    (And you should totally ambush–uh, I mean SURPRISE–your conservative readers. It’s all in good fun, right?)

    I will ambush the readers as soon as I can figure out how to make it funny.

  20. Those reed diffusers are intense! I poured one down the sink (hated the smell) and was still gasping for fresh air for days.

    My place still smells two days later. I think I’m going to have to do some scrubbing this afternoon.

  21. I love those reed diffusers, but they are pretty strong. At least everything smells lovely in your house, even the kitties. Too bad it’s killing your asthma.

    I think rubbing alcohol can take the scent away…but don’t quote me on that. Good luck!

  22. I had three hot sauce packets from Taco Bell on the counter the other day. The next morning I woke up and saw one packet all chewed up on the living room floor. I still have never found the other two. WHY would a cat want hot sauce? And three packets?

  23. I might not have the figthingest cat but I definitely have the most paranoid cat who “protects” our house from outdoor kitties. Protects means screams, hisses, get all big, and bang her head against the window. Intimidating.

    My inner voices sometimes argue and I have to tell them to shut the hell up.

Leave a Reply

