band montage

I didn’t even watch the debate last night, but from what I’ve learned from the news and Twitter, I want to start this post by saying, “my friends,”

Other than that, I’ve got nothing of interest or even anything remotely funny to relate.  The highlight of my day yesterday was in the afternoon when I realized I had stuffed a $50 dollar bill in my jeans pocket earlier in the week, meaning I didn’t have to go home to retrieve my wallet before going grocery shopping. (I left it in my gym bag for some reason.)

So I did that shopping after work, then I made a taco and watched an episode of “The Wire,” called my mother, and went to Flick and Tucker’s new house to return the DVD they left at my place on Saturday night.  Only I forgot to bring the DVD.  But I did remember to bring beer!  So we drank some beer and half-heartedly watched “Batman Begins.”  Then I got tired and drove home and went to bed at 9:30, as I am still recovering from the respiratory issues of the weekend.

Even though I did all that stuff, nothing funny or interesting happened, and I’m lacking the ability to even make up something funny or interesting.  So instead, I’m going to embed a video in this post today.  I do run the risk that many of you have already seen this video, as yesterday it was featured on at least four blogs that I read, and I Tweeted it, too.  Those of you who haven’t seen the video probably don’t like A-Ha anyway.  But here it is, a literal take of what I consider the best video of all of the 1980’s, maybe even the best video of all time, definitely the best thing to ever come out of Norway:

If something funny or interesting happens anytime in the near future, I promise I’ll blog about it.

18 responses to this post.

  1. I love it!

  2. How is it possible to not like A HA?

  3. That is brilliant!

  4. I do like Aha, and of course Take on Me, but every time I hear the song, I am reminded of the weekend, almost 15 years ago, that I was staying at my ex-inlaws’ house and my teenage-ex-bro-in-law sang the song ALL WEEKEND. There is actually too much of a good thing.

  5. If that video is the one I think it is (I’m not going to click through at work), I think it is the first video I ever saw. Ah, memories. (Or, “A-ha memories”? No, that’s too cheesy.)

  6. I hear ya. I’ve been quiet on my own blog these last few weeks because nothing much is going. Life is boring when you’re unemployed.

  7. Posted by lizgwiz on October 8, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    That is a fabulous video. I remember well how “groundbreaking” the original was. Back when I was young. Ish. Sigh.

  8. Agreed – best video of the 80s. Awesome!

  9. Posted by nancypearlwannabe on October 8, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    That video made up for your uninteresting afternoon a hundredfold.

  10. I did watch it yesterday when you tweeted about it, but LOVE the excuse to watch it again!

  11. Saw it, but enjoyed watching it again.

    Norway thanks for all the fish and a-ha!

  12. Hah! I just thought you posted the original video. Waited until the boss went to lunch to watch it. Too funny and I loved the magic frame. Great memories – my babysitter always watched MTV because we had cable and she didn’t.

  13. McCain said “my friends” 24 times.

    I hate him.

  14. i think what America needs to get us through this economic crisis is for quality storyline music-videos (and their parodies) to make a big comeback. by the time i finally got around to getting cable, the music channels stopped showing videos—which is what i was always wanted to watch as a kid.

  15. That video is one of the best ever.

  16. Yes, my friends, classic video. I remember A-Ha also performed the theme for one of the Timothy Dalton Bond movies (he says casually, as if he doesn’t know the exact movie and song title, and probably even year of release). ‘Twas no “Take on Me”.

  17. Today I somehow put a 50 dollar bill in my pocket and now i can’t FIND the pants. Seriously. i have no idea where I took them off.

  18. they made one on the “head over heels” video, too.

Leave a Reply

