Being Thankful

I’m going to pass the blogging baton over to you NaBloPoMoers and take a blogcation for the rest of this, my favorite holiday of the year.  In my absence, a running list of stuff for which I am thankful:

  • My new apartment.  I wish we had met sooner.
  • Hyperlinking
  • The surgical pins that are holding together my ankle, and the doctor who will remove them at a time to be determined.
  • Along those lines, the general good health of me and my family and friends.  We are a lucky bunch.
  • The country of Sweden.
  • No-knead bread.
  • My fantastic Hudson Valley support group of friends.
  • And the old friends, too.
  • Sam Harris, Bill Maher, and all the other people who have inspired me to say, “no, I don’t believe, and that is really okay, I am still a moral person.”  May our numbers continue to grow.  Freedom of religion also means freedom from religion.
  • Also, feminists.  Thank you for all your hard work to make this a country where I can be single and thriving without having to fight for it.  (That link seems to be unrelated at first blush, but it was one of the best articles I’ve read in a while.  Read the whole thing to see the connection.)
  • Oh, and since I’m getting political, thanks to 52.3% of American voters.  May the 47.7% of the others see that we weren’t wrong.
  • MSNBC
  • My Precious Perfects, Lucy and Micki.  I know you drive me crazy and sometimes I joke about your untimely death, but the truth is you are great companions who are worth the occasional stuffy nose.
  • Google.  You are my everything.
  • Swimming, and particularly my coach.  I can’t believe how much better I’ve gotten in a year.
  • Mom, for making me go to the next meet in December even though I thought I couldn’t afford it.
  • The website Calorie Count.  It doesn’t work for everyone, but I’ve been using it to keep track of what I eat, and the results are that there are 10 less pounds of me than last month.
  • And of course, you.  You entertain, inform, disagree, keep me wanting to strive for better, and generally boost my ego, be that a good or bad thing.  Thanks for coming around.
26 responses to this post.

  1. Fabulous list. Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. That list was fab. And thank YOU, for bringing the daily hilarity.

  3. i’ll boost your ego any day lady!! happy thanksgiving!

  4. Sweden … haven’t seen that one yet, but hey, if you are thankful for Sweden then that’s a good thing.

  5. That is an excellent list. And ten pounds? Way to go!

  6. Amen, sista. I am thankful for YOU.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  7. Happy Thanksgiving!

    I’m a little surprised I didn’t get a direct link at the word “disagree”. Ha. 🙂

  8. Hyperlinking FTW!

    I’m partial to Denmark, but Sweden’s cool too.

  9. Happy Thanksgiving!!!

  10. Yeah, Sweden. Whoo hoo!

  11. I’m glad I’m not the only one leaning on their blog for an ego boost.

    You are the greatest! Okay, that’s over the top, but you’re pretty darn cool.

  12. I am so intrigued by the calorie counter thing.

  13. Three cheers for The Daily Christmas Tree! For you we are all thankful. Enjoy the blogcay!

  14. I’m thankful for Noelle! Happy Thanksgiving!

  15. What a lovely list!

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family!

  16. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!

  17. I’m thankful for you! Aww. Happy antiturkey day.

  18. You’re welcome. I am also incredible thankful for the people I read and the people who read me. Have a good one!

  19. Great list! Happy Thanksgiving to you too!

  20. Thanks for all the great hyperlinks – i will come back later when i’m stuffed.
    Happy Thanksgiving!!

  21. Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    I love the Hyperlinking one! 🙂

  22. You lost 10 pounds last month? Oh my gosh! Congrats!

    And I enjoy the hyperlinking item too = )

  23. I wish that I could be good about posting to calorie counters…its so hard to remember!

  24. I’m thankful for you too. I hope that you have a great week!

  25. “Freedom of religion also means freedom from religion.”

    I second that!

  26. Posted by erica on December 1, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    I am thankful for Sweden to and to all the great friends there that let me meet my fiancee. Now if anyone knows how to cut through immigration red tape….:-)

Leave a Reply

