You say Granola, I say Granula

As you may know if you’ve caught up on the blog since Monday, my company is going out of business.  I’ve known about it for a while, but I wasn’t able to blog about it until it was official.  This is a post that I originally wrote on December 10, 2009:

Recently, I was phone calling with The Man of Action. We are both having very economy-weary Christmases and he told me that no one is getting any presents from him this year. No one but his itty bitty adorable nephew, of course. You can not withhold presents from a toddler, because they make faces at you.

I told him that I’d one-up him. Not only am I not doing individual presents with my people, I’m saving money by making everyone homemade granola.

If you really want to see a toddler make a face, give him granola. It’s the present that says, “I love you so much, I wanted you to have your daily supply of fiber in one sitting.”  They do not appreciate that, especially the ones who are hard at work NOT crapping their pants.

As it turns out, when you give granola as a gift, adults kind of make that face too.  But that won’t stop me!  This is the recipe I’m using, and I’m planning on boxing them up along with an info sheet detailing 10 fun facts about granola, including the fact that it used to be spelled “granula.” By changing the vowel, Kellogg was able to market the same exact food without any pesky copyright problems.

But because there’s nothing sadder than an all-breakfast-cereal Christmas, I’m also making unemployment truffles for my folks.  I’ve found three recipes online: Chocolate Truffles, White Chocolate Truffles, and Dreamy White Chocolate Truffles.  Because I’m no good at being thrifty, I’m going to use Ghirardelli chocolate for the base.  These are supposed to be pretty damn easy to make, and I plan on coating them with cocoa powder, crunched up candy canes and coconut.  I’ll have to let you know how it turns out!

Verdict:

1) When the Dreamy White Chocolate Truffles told me to use confectioner’s sugar, I should have paid heed.  I substituted granulated sugar, of which I had ample supply, and they were a little bit crunchy, and hard to scoop out.

2) On the other hand, the regular white chocolate truffles were extremely soft, but conformed pretty nicely when I rolled them in topping.  Next time, I’ll add less cream, I think.

3) I packaged up the truffles in small Christmas boxes I bought at a craft store for 70 cents each, but soon found that I had more boxes than truffles.  So I supplemented with peanut butter balls.

– Peanut butter balls: mix one cup of peanut butter, one cup of confectioner’s sugar and one sleeve of crushed graham crackers.  Roll into balls.  If you desire (and I did) melt some milk chocolate and drizzle over the peanut butter balls.  Or, if you have leftover chocolate truffles, you can flatten them and roll them around the peanut butter balls.  These turned out to be the biggest hit.

4) If you too have a poverty-stricken Christmas and choose to present friends and / or family with both boxes of granola AND chocolate truffles, be prepared to not hear as many accolades about the granola, even if you did include an info sheet of 10 fun facts.  Most people really, really prefer chocolate.

5) Do not be surprised if the 70 cent Christmas boxes are returned to you with a request for a refill.  Don’t mind if you do, because these are ridiculously easy, if not a little messy, to make!

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by deutlich on January 21, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    Hmm.. that sounds all kinds of yummy, actually. And coincidentally, tomorrow’s post will be about the granola bar

    heh.

    Ah, the bar of granola. It’s gotten me through many a long swim practice.

  2. Oooh, now I’m really really hungry.

    It was hard to write that on an empty stomach.

  3. Sorry about the company you work for and yum!

    Thanks! And welcome back, btw.

  4. As you may have noticed from my posts, I really, really like getting snacks for gifts…But that’s just me.

    Oh yeah, I’m not going to complain about any kind of food as gifts. Ever.

  5. Am I the only one who wants to know the ten fun facts about granola?

    Damn. I thought I could slip through that one undetected. I accidentally deleted the word file… But my mother may still have a hard copy. I’ll ask her.

  6. I work with very gift-giving people and in working with every single department in the company this can become expensive (even when bringing home a full paycheck). A couple years ago I quit buying individual gifts (except for my immediate boss) and everyone gets an assortment of treats.
    I have done granola in the past, but have gotten better appreciation for chex mix, so I tend to go the salty and sweet combo route of food giving.
    The biggest hit this year was fake truffles made with ground up oreos and cream cheese (recipe on the kraft website). I make the peanut butter things also, but I am usually too lazy to “ball” yet another goodie so I push “dough” into a small rectangle pan and then melt chocolate chips and peanut butter over and cut into bite size squares.
    Wow this was a ridiculously long comment for a response to something you were holding onto since Christmas. Now I want peanut butter…

    It was a long one. And it made me hungry. Good thing it’s snack time!

  7. I’m glad they went over well! What a good idea!

    Thank you, Google.

  8. mmm, i love granola.

    You know what? I do too. Especially Bear Naked.

  9. Can you combine the granola and truffles?

    Holy crap, you’re brilliant.

  10. I have to agree: there’s almost no point to peanut butter balls without chocolate. I tried to explain this to my little sister and her boyfriend (who showed up at my parents’ house on Christmas Eve with chocolate-less peanut butter balls), but they thought complaining about free homemade desserts was ungrateful of me.

    I think you have every right to complain about crappy food. How else will anyone ever learn?

  11. Posted by lizgwiz on January 22, 2009 at 10:17 am

    I would be thrilled with a gift of granola.

    You’re much more industrious than me. The economy was hurting me, too…so I gave $10 Sonic gift cards. 😉

    According to my mom, it was tasty. But like so many veggie-friendly foods, it’s got a bad rap.

  12. The truffles sound delicious except for the coconut. Coconut evil.

    Peanut butter balls, on the other hand, sound delicious.

    Heh. Balls.

Leave a Reply

