Nowhere to go

Today’s the second day of the rest of my life.  Fourth if you count the weekend.  Sixth if you count the full days Obama has been in office. First if you count the days since Kirsten Gillibrand will be my senator instead of my former congresswoman (crazy gerrymandered district hits the Christmas tree farm but not the apartment complex in the same town.)  As you can see from all this meandering, I’ve become a little directionless since not having an office to go to.  I’m not going to lie, there have been more sessions of falling asleep on the couch while watching CNN than I planned on.  But I have an excuse!  Who can interrupt a cat when she wants to cuddle?  Especially if it’s Lucy, who is not allowed (by Micki) to cuddle very often due to her status as loser of the kitty wars.

Oh dear FSM, I’m out of work and blogging about kitties.  But that’s not fair, because I’ve actually done a lot of stuff in the past few days!

On Saturday, I had a swim meet in Kingston!  On Sunday I went to Manhattan to go to brunch and the Guggenheim and the Met and with my mother and my sister!  Then Mom showed us the apartment where her dad was born!  On Monday I walked my friend’s dog around the Vanderbilt mansion for an hour!  Today I went to the gym to watch CNN!  (And did not fall asleep with a cat on my lap.  Until I got home.)

Tomorrow, if I don’t get snowed in, I’ve got a lunch date with my (now) former boss!  If I do get snowed in, I’ll spend the day handwriting envelopes for pay!  On Thursday I have an interview!  (the third one for this company! that I may or may not tell you about later, but don’t ask, because I’m superstitious!)  And Friday is Battlestar Gallactica!

I like adding all those exclamation points.  It’s because anything that isn’t sitting on this couch is terribly exciting.  And headache inducing for some reason.  On the other hand, I’m embracing my couch time because sleep is so great.  Sometimes I wish I could call it my favorite hobby without feeling lame.  This week, I will try and sleep as much as possible because if I (cross your fingers reader) get the aforementioned job, my free time is going disappear like the Bush administration.  If I don’t get the job…  Uh, I don’t know what.

Because I spent last week knowing I’d have lots of home time this week, I have not kept a very clean house.  So now I’m off to vacuum and then I’m requiring myself to leave the house from the hours of 1:00 to 5:00. Hopefully something exclamation point worthy awaits me!  Even if it’s just buying one cup of coffee and reading a book for four hours!

29 responses to this post.

  1. Handwriting envelopes for pay? You must have lovely handwriting!

    Good luck with interview number 3. I am assuming you mean the third interview in the process, and not 3 interviews each at different times in your work career.

  2. If you feel like getting out of the house you could always go clean my house for me!

  3. everyone says to enjoy this free time while it lasts, and i can’t think of a better way than cnn and cat-cuddling. i hope that the third interview snags you the gig; i’m sending lots of good vibes your way.

  4. I’m crossing my fingers for your third interview!

  5. I am keeping all my fingers crossed for you! Maybe if we all write comments with exclamation points it will be good luck! I hope you have fun today! Wasn’t BSG totally messed up last week?!

  6. Posted by Jennifer M. on January 27, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    Rock on for BSG!

  7. Temporary unemployment would be so much more rewarding if it wasn’t for the anxiety over finding another job.

    Good luck at the interview!

  8. Hey, enjoy your free time while it lasts! And best of luck to you on the interview!

  9. Your unemployment is way more exciting than mine. I fell asleep on the couch to either SoapNet and reruns of 90210 or the Game Show Network.

    I know it is hard, but try to enjoy the little break. And good luck on the interview! Fingers crossed!

  10. I read, “I had a swim meet in Kingston!” as, “I met a swimming Klingon!” I might need a little couch time myself.

    I’m sorry to hear about your job. Good luck with your upcoming interview!

  11. What is it about lots of free time = dirty house? I have the same problem.

  12. I am crossing my fingers for Thursday!

  13. Good luck on the third interview! Don’t worry about making it exciting, maybe just make it “memorable.”

  14. Noelle. If you are going to imply you are a directionless slacker by mentioning falling asleep with a cat on your lap in the middle of the day, you’ll have to start watching something far more embarrassing than CNN.

    By the way, I forgot to tell you I had a date last week with a guy who swims in our local branch of what I think is the same organization you swim with. Unfortunately, I felt about him similar to the way I feel about you: I liked him, but I did not want to make out with him. (Also, I like you much better.)

    Good luck with the interview!

  15. My favorite hobby is sleeping too! I can’t wait to hear about interview #3! It’s impressive that you set goals like cleaning and leaving the house! I’m using the exclamation points per NPW’s comment!

  16. So I hopped on the BSG bandwagon late, and I’m still watching season 3. Last night I saw “Maelstrom” and am ashamed to admit how much it depressed me. (Note to self: IT’S TV. IT’S NOT REAL.) At the same time, I’m not w/out hope and must stay away from all things BSG so I don’t ruin any surprises for myself.

    Anyway, good luck! Hope the interview goes well–

  17. You deserve lots of naps and cat cuddling! But I hope you find a great new job soon.

  18. I know you’ve been over this, but are you sure you want to get another job so soon? Have you really given unemployment a fair shake? All that couch time just may grow on you after a while.

    I really need to get off mine.

  19. Posted by wellthenhowaboutthisone on January 28, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    I do consider sleep to be my favorite hobby, even tho it’s lame. I think I’ve elevated it to some sort of status above mere hobby, tho. It could be my job, I’m that good at it.

    Good luck with the job interview!

  20. Posted by lizgwiz on January 28, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    Falling asleep watching CNN? I COMPLETELY don’t understand that.

    I fall asleep to MSNBC.

  21. handwriting envelopes for pay?!? how can i get in on this?

  22. Good! Luck! Today!

    !!!

  23. how’d you make out?

  24. If you’re looking for something to do, you could always go stick a finger in a nose – http://www.fingerinnose.com/

    I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you for the job we’re not going to talk about. Or, I’m not. Which ever is luckier.

  25. Fingers crossed for the new job.

    And I have to do that sometimes – make myself leave the house. I have been a SAHM for almost 13 years. I know all about that.

  26. You really are making the best of this! Good for you.

    Something is coming your way soon. I just know it.

  27. Posted by A. Former Co-Worker on January 30, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    sounds like you’ll be re-employed long before me.
    keep up the good blogging.

  28. I do believe in : “when one door closed another opens”. I hope the right one opens soon for you!

  29. Wow – you’ve been busy. i better go catch up on your other posts. but i am a true believer in “when 1 door closes, another opens”. 3 interviews!! I’m guessing you got the job. just keep saying to yrself. I will get the job.
    can’t wait to read the next installment.

Leave a Reply

