I said I’d post, and now I’m posting!

As of this writing, you all have helped me raise $50 for the River Pool in Beacon!  Thank you all so much, I’m half way to half there!  And that’s great because just today they sent out an email reminding the swimmers we need to raise $100 before July 10.  So if you’re dying to participate, do so here!  (And yes, the website for this event is on the not-so-user-friendly side, so make sure you choose my name when you donate.  It’s not intuitive.)

Reminder: for every donation over $10, I’m putting up a blog post just like I used to!  Party like it’s 2007.

Today, the first thing that’s coming to mind is reiterating why I have no time to blog anymore.  What I did today as a financial adviser!

6am – 7:30am swimming.  (not for money, this time)

8:00 coffee.  this can only be done with coffee.

8:10 – 11:30 phone calling prospects, writing illustrations for life insurance, taking a break by blogging about the River Pool swim. I might have also accidentally taken a nap in there.  I CAN NOT work from home.

12:00 lunch with the girls!  Turns out I have a friend from swimming and a friend from kickball who work together, so we had lunch together.  I think I mentioned life insurance once, so I can write it off.  But then I messed up calculating the tip in front of everyone, so I may have lost some credibility as a financial type.

1:00 – 2:15 drive to the office.  It took a while because traffic was absolutely stopped on the Thruway for no apparent reason.  Talked on the phone a little while driving.  Don’t freak out mom, I’ve got a hands-free!

2:30 – 3:30 some phoning, some office work, some trying to figure out how my health insurance works.  I am licenced by the State of New York to sell health insurance, but I still don’t get how it works.  Neither does anyone else, I’m sure. Thank goodness I don’t actually have to sell it.

3:30 – 4:00 talking strategy with the district manager!

4:00 – 5:00 more contacting of contacts.

5:00 – 6:15 drive home.  I was thwarted by a “shortcut” which involved almost driving to Connecticut in order to avoid a traffic jam.

6:15 change into pants!  And another shirt!  And go to the bathroom!

6:18 leave to go to my evening appointment.  I know how long it takes to get there, because they live across the street from my old job.

6:30 Get some lovely folks financially advised.

7:30 Go to the grocery store to do research for the article I’m writing for Allie’s Answers on Thursday!

8:00 Home to do a little paperwork and attempt to do prepare for tomorrow while watching America’s Got Talent.

10:00 Start writing this blog post even though I really should go to bed instead.  Which I’m doing now.

Don’t forget to donate to the river pool swim for more blog posts!  It’ll probably get better as I get back into practice…

And a huge thanks to everyone who has donated so far!

4 responses to this post.

  1. When I first read it I thought it said “River Pool in Bacon”.

    I like bacon.

  2. I dream of one day having a job that allows me to write off lunch as a business expense.

    Wow, your post for Allie’s Answers involves RESEARCH? Can’t wait to read it!

  3. seeing “Noelle” in quotes was too funny.

  4. I know! I can’t wait to read your AA post too! I am so psyched you’re writing for the site.

    Sounds like you now have one of those lives where work and life kind of weave in and out, too. It’s not a bad way to live, but so necessary to find a way to make it feel like you aren’t always working.

Leave a Reply

