I miss writing

Hi there little blog.  I just wanted to give you a hug.  I miss you.

I wish there was a way that I could maximize all the time I spend in my car, because I think about things I want to write, and how much I miss crafting words into sentences, and into paragraphs and so on.  I suppose I could get one of those snazzy voice recorders, but that will mean having to get over the hurdle of the fear of hearing the sound of my own voice.

Since this post is all about relating stories, I suppose I should relate one.  Oh, but first let me give you one quick update that my river swim, which many of you so generously donated to, is tomorrow!  There’s still time to donate, if you feel so inclined to help those kids have a place to swim this summer while raising awareness of the importance of clean rivers!  I made my minimum, but not my goal.  Here’s the link, one last time: Hudson River Pool.

Thanks again to everyone!

So what’s a good story?

Oh, hey, how about how I almost DIED in river last weekend?  Or how I met a guy up here the other day who ISN”T MARRIED and HAS A JOB?  (Meaning he’s met 90% of the requirements to become the next Mr. Noelle Tannenbaum) Or how about how I DEVOURED the entire season 2 of Mad Men the other day?  Or how I’m now the proud owner of HEALTH INSURANCE a mere 9 months after I lost it?  Or how next weekend I’m going on a three day SAILING trip on the Hudson, and taking a DAY OFF on Monday?  Or just generally how AWESOME the latest Harry Potter movie was?

Or how I just spent minutes writing the words above and now I have to get to work?  But they were some seriously good minutes.  I’m going to look for some more of them.

15 responses to this post.

  1. Hopefully the new potential Mr. Noelle Tannenbaum will provide enough blog fodder to bring you back here. 🙂

  2. What? We need more details on all of those things!

    I’ve often considered getting a voice recorder for my drive but it would be ridiculous since my thoughts are always being interrupted by yelling at other drivers are singing.

  3. Nice to see you here. sounds like you have lots of stories that you are dying to tell – that’s great!

  4. We miss you too! Absolutely loved your requirements for the future Mr. Noelle. Sadly, I also struggle with meeting those criteria in the dating world. Yay on health insurance!

  5. Wow … you’re like a regular person again. I bet it’s nice in contrast to the darker parts you went through.

    You never said if you actually went out with the guy.

  6. Posted by Jennifer M. on July 24, 2009 at 11:47 am

    Are you going to reschedule your surgery now?

  7. Posted by Man Of Action on July 24, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    Go fuck yourselves, Warner Brothers. Harry Potter and the Glassless Eyeglasses (did they think we wouldn’t notice that his eyeglasses had no lenses in half of the freaking scenes?) makes ~$400MM worldwide the first weekend, and you can’t keep Warner Independent around for more than five years?

    Have fun on the sailing trip. Totally jealous!

  8. I have considered the voice recorder thing, too, but haven’t brought myself to do it either.

    Sailing, health insurance, and employed, nonmarried prospects are all good things. The almost dying in a river thing, not so much. Glad you made it out alive!

  9. I want to hear more about all those things! Except Harry Potter, because I’ve skipped that particular pop culture phenomenon. But the others, yes!

  10. I would like more information, so I think each of those topics should be your next four or five posts. Please and thank you.

  11. Posted by EvilKate on July 27, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    yeah yeah, more details!!!!

    and I want to see sailing pictures. i love sailing.

    AND also in agreement with the Man of Action. WTF no lenses, I thought I was losing it!

  12. I saw HP yesterday and LOVED it! By far my most favorite of the HP movies! I loved how funny it was! I also think I enjoyed it more because I haven’t read the book in awhile so I don’t remember all the small details, most of which they probably changed.

  13. If you ever find a voice-to-blog recorder for the car, let me know. I do the same thing… plan out (word for word) great blog posts to write… and then never ever actually get them down on the blog. Go fig. It’s good to know I’m not the only driving-blogging-minded one around, though.

  14. I vote for Tannenbaum commute recorded podcasts. 🙂

  15. The Harry Potter movie was awesome. My middle daughter has a bet running with her older sister that if she doesn’t eat meat for a week, her older sister has to pay her way into the movie… again… for her third time to watch it! Middle kid is a serious carnivore (oldest is vegetarian) so she REALLY wants this!!

    Maybe you could carry a small video camera and start Vlogging in your car. (vlogging… pfhtt)

Leave a Reply

