New Word Tuesday

Laundricide [lawn – druh – sayhd]

-noun
1. The willful or accidental destruction of cloth goods through an act of laundry.
2. A person who destroys laundered goods or is responsible for their destruction.

Origin:
Circa 2008, coined at any given crappy laundromat or by any given neglectful laundering amateur.

Use in a sentence:
1. I accidentally committed laundricide, throwing my good lacy underwear in the dryer.
2. Yeah, I hate doing their chores, and I’m not above committing an act of laundricide next time I have a load of their whites and my brand new red shirt.

Can I get a visual?

IMG_2202

Blue Sheets, the innocent victim of laundricide

Back Story: I ignorantly thought that the child proof cap on my bottle of bleach also meant “leak proof” so recklessly, I threw it on top of the laundry in my basket to take over to the wash.  In an instant, my good sheets (read: less dingy than the other set) became an tie dye bedding art project.  Thankfully, no cats or items from Banana Republic were harmed.

13 responses to this post.

  1. Bummer. But you’re right, it would have been worse to ruin a BR dress! Or a cat.

  2. Maybe you should dump bleach over the whole sheet and see if you can make it a consistent color.

  3. I once had a new tank top get somehow tangled around the washer thingy and it was so stretched out that it ripped.

    My new towels (rust color) turned my white towels a nice shade of muted rust. That’s what I get for being lazy and putting everything in one load.

  4. Posted by elizabeth on August 19, 2009 at 10:42 am

    That will teach you not to take your clothes to the laundromat instead of bringing them back to your Mom’s house.

  5. Whew. At least your BR stuff is safe.

    For some reason it cracks me up that “Nomenclature” is a category of posts.

  6. Oh, you know I love the nomenclature.

    I did that to a pair of Converse once. A sad story involving harsh cleaners and a shower.

  7. I love that you have a category for “Nomenclature” now. Well done.

  8. I have forbidden my wife from using bleach. People think it works in the laundry. I have too many towels and sheets as proof it doesn’t.

    I’ll send a donation in your name to the laundry college for underprivileged kids.

  9. Laundricide is just an oppurtunity to craft something and buy new sheets.

  10. Oh no, that sucks! Bleach is evil.

  11. At least you didn’t bleach the cat. That’s important.

  12. speaking as someone who has dealt with it most of my life. i say see a therapist, take meds, whatever it takes to get out of the funk. nothing to be ashamed of, if you had diabetes you’d take the medication. wish there wasn’t such a stigma, but i think it’s getting less cause it’s so commonplace now and frankly, who give’s a damn anyway. just my 2 cents.

  13. oh g-d i just realized on commented on the wrong post!

Leave a Reply

