do-over

America is a land where you can re-invent yourself as many times as you need until you invent yourself into the person you are.  If you put your heart into it, you can change almost anything and probably make a profitable make-over show about it.  But as one wise person once told me, people never really change.  They just grow into their personalities.

This week, I’m going for some big changes, again, to get myself back to me.  That means no more flopping in front of the TV just to zone out, no more eating with abandon, and no more ignoring my gym membership.  Most of all, no more being unhappy for longer than a day without figuring out a way to stop it.

Cold turkey sucks, and binging can be kind of fun, so before putting my nose to the grindstone, I had a week of decadence.  It was my own personal Mardi Gras, which just happened to coincide with the Dutchess County Fair, which I attended three times this year.  Three times at the fair meant that I indulged in a 4-H vanilla milkshake, fries, falafel, fake smoothies, soda, free samples of beer nuts, jams, and maple cotton candy, and zeppolies, which it took 31 years for me to discover.  Thanks to my friend Flick, who convinced me to try them over funnel cake.  And then to SisterAlyson who came up for the fair on Saturday and wanted to have them as well. When I wasn’t at the fair, I was molding my butt to the couch watching pointless amounts of TV.  (Which actually got so boring that I went outside for a while to read a book, just a little taste of “new old me” that starts today.)

The fair food and the lack of exercise probably put me way past my calorie count for the month (the month of September, that is…) but I still took heed of the sign on the DQ that said “pumpkin ice cream now here,” and ended my week there.  Now it’s Monday, I have a job interview lined up this morning, and my belly is full of one serving of cereal, and not eating again until it’s salad.  There’s a post-it on my television admonishing me not to turn it on until “America’s Got Talent” tomorrow night, and my gym bag is packed for use after I run to the old office to clean out my desk.  And here I am typing a post even though I would rather be sleeping, and even though I don’t feel 100% inspired.  Next up: find a way to clean out my pantry by actually cooking something.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Good luck with your interview. I am going to have to force myself to get back on a schedule. I woke up this morning with a nagging sense I was supposed to do something… oh, right. Because I’ve had a training scheduled at 10 am for the past month. Good thing I woke up!

  2. I may have told you this before, but when I was in college, I learned that the average person changes careers 7 times. I think it is awesome that you are willing to try new things.

    Good luck in the interview!

  3. I hope the interview went well today.

    Binging is SO fun, but what makes it fun is that it is taboo. At least that’s the way it is with me. And I usually can get back to boring rabbit food after a weekend of eating recklessly.

    I like the idea of not being unhappy for longer than one day. I could use a little work there.

  4. Posted by Jennifer M. on August 31, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    Hope your interview went well. I hear that the Hoff may be performing on the semifinals show of America’s Got Talent. Or there is this gem from 2006: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_FhR8ID7K_M

  5. Posted by Courtney on August 31, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    I hope your interview went really well. I’m so proud of you for doing this. If everyone took the same proactive approach to being healthy and happy that you do, the world would be a better place. Long-distance hugs to you.

  6. I wanna go to the fair! Yum!

    Hope the Interview was AwesomeSauce!

    xox

  7. Posted by Jess on August 31, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    Rock on! Hope the interview went well and thanks for the inspiration.

  8. I’m with Courtney; I’m pretty proud of you and your rock star ways. Hope the interview went well. Now I need to go find out what zeppolies are.

  9. Good for you! I love your rule about not being unhappy for more than a day without figuring out why.

    I miss pumpkin ice cream. For some reason, no one makes it up here.

  10. I love that rule about not being unhappy for more than one day! I need to start living by that rule too! It’s amazing how much better I feel when I DO things, even if it is laundry or dishes. Just cleaning up and having less clutter in the house makes me feel better.

    Hope the interview went well!

Leave a Reply

