How-to have fun at a diner. Part 1 of 1 of a video web log series.

I woke up from unemployment nap #1 this morning (after I swam 3000 yards, and before an interview so get OFF my back…) with a firm, resolute notion that I need to let the world know what I know about how to make friends and influence people in a diner setting.  This is a little trick I learned either at summer camp or college, or some other place where there was a lake and communal eating.  I’ve whipped out this little trick many times when I was desperate for attention and fame, or just couldn’t get my mouse voice to rise above the din of a dinner crowd.

By the by, teaching myself how to use iMovie was so ridiculously easy it made me wish that Apple made everything in the world.  So without further ado, my first how-to vlog:

I hope you enjoy while I partake in nap #2.

17 responses to this post.

  1. I won’t say anything about the Mac. I’m chuckling though. That’s crazy.

    Glad you liked it. I’m all about simple pleasures.

  2. Hey, you didn’t do that when I had lunch with you!!
    I like the vlog format — so useful.
    But I confess that I was distracted … the books on the shelf behind you, over your left shoulder as you face the camera, look suspiciously arranged by *color*. Do tell. Coincidence, or is design more important than all else?

    Totally design. I love that you noticed. And I didn’t need to do it at lunch since the conversation was quite enjoyable! Plus, one is advised to take caution performing this trick in front of new business associates.

  3. Posted by badger reader on September 9, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    Awesome – love the video (and the category tag!)
    Way more of a family-friendly diner trick than the “sex from the inside” one I learned in college about squeezing a coffee creamer upside down to explode into an empty glass.

    I would very much like to see that particular NSFW vlog.

  4. Can you figure out a way to get paid to make instructional vlogs? No? Bummer.

    Actually, I probably can. But how much would you pay to watch this?

  5. I know how to make a straw wrapper wiggle like a catapiller… But this is a great trick too! Kudos.

    OMG! I’ve seen that one done! I totally forgot I knew how to do that at one time.

  6. That’s awesome! It made Argo bark. 🙂

    I vote for more video blogs! You did such a great job.

    Thanks! That trick used to scare the living bejesus out of Micki.

  7. What a fantastic trick! I am totally doing this next time I have access to a wrapped straw. I’m sure it will not be embarrassing for my dinner companions AT ALL.

    Also: I love hearing my fellow bloggers’ voices! It’s weird that I feel like I know you, but until now I’ve never heard your voice. (You have a very nice voice, BTW.)

  8. shoot that was not at all what i meant to post

  9. That was so cool! I can’t wait to try it. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  10. Awesome trick but I tore m y second end off too fast before you said “NOT TEAR IT OFF” Le Sigh! This clearly illustrates how I have a hard time following directions.

  11. Posted by Jennifer M. on September 11, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    I picked up an extra straw at lunch today and once I get home I will review your video again and see if I too can moo.

  12. this was the perfect topic for an inaugural vlog.

    and a nice break-the-ice trick, too!

  13. Posted by Erikka on September 14, 2009 at 10:42 am

    That is AWESOME!

    and ps. you’re cute. 🙂

  14. Yes to NT vlogs! Very entertaining, and I imagine that could be a fun thing to do when someone bites into a hamburger.

  15. Posted by EvilKate on September 16, 2009 at 4:08 pm

    I just searched the house for straws with wrappers but there are none. I can’t wait to try it!

    Also, I didn’t really know what was coming…so the cow noise totally cracked me up. Thank you.

  16. That made my dog go absolutely crazy when you did that. She’s still searching for the source.

Leave a Reply

