Inspired

What a weekend.  Or rather, what a past few days.

I’m still not working a regular job, not that I ever was when I was selling insurance.  Back then I was just getting dressed up in the suit, driving to the office and pretending I was making money by making lots of phone calls and going to lots of meetings.  Now I’m sitting at home at my computer, imagining ways to make money between phone calls and meetings.

As was true the last time I wasn’t working, it’s hard to keep track of the days, but for the mornings when I have swim practice.  Those are weekdays.  The other days are weekends.  And let’s just say that this past weekend started on Wednesday, because that’s when my friend and I and two other new friends took his sailboat up the Hudson to Kingston, where we docked, consumed some beers, and motored back by the light of a beautiful sunset.

Then there was Thursday, where I attended my weekly internet marketing workshop where I’m learning to actually make some money off this stuff that I’ve been doing for free all these years.  It’s inspiring, but it’s taking some work to get there.  That’s why I still have this crummy seasonally-incorrect template up right now.  I’m waiting to get a better grasp of web development before messing with my baby.  In the interim, this template is my protest against my own inability.

On Friday, Flick & I made cupcakes using this recipe.  I am seriously considering going into business.  No, seriously.

Saturday was the city day!  It was also the day of my 10 year high school reunion, because we graduated in 1996, and had a class president who took four years to get his shit together.  I did not go, because I had a haircut. Other things that I would have gone to before my high school reunion include: the dentist, a country music amateur night festival, and a seminar on long term care insurance.  But!  I did have lunch with The Man of Action, who I know from high school and who was also avoiding the reunion.  And then, of all things, on the way from lunch to the hairdresser, I bumped into none other than my best friend from high school.  We lost touch years ago, and she didn’t know about the reunion.  It was awesome kismet to see her, since she is probably one of the only people who I would have hoped to see if I had dragged my miserable self to a high school reunion.

As always, spending time with Max was wonderful and inspirational, and he blonded me:

IMG_2247

Not so much cut, because I’m letting it grow again. YOU HEAR THAT BOYS???? I’m letting it grow out, which means I’m officially out of my “I cut my hair as a way to deal with breaking up with my boyfriend” mourning period.  So seriously, start calling.  Because Max isn’t just a hairdresser (he is also a life coach) between foils, we planned my life post-hairdo.  While I was there I came up with a name for my new company, which will encompass all the little freelancing I’m doing here and there, including cupcake baking.

Sunday took me back to the city again, but to the Brooklyn side of things.  My parents and I went in to help our friend, BookNerd, open her much storied bookstore, Greenlight Bookstore.  Mostly we painted and did physical labor, and chatted with other book folk who were lending a hand getting the store ready for business.  It’s going to be such a great addition to Fort Greene and the independent bookselling community, and I’m glad I had the chance to help someone in my generation realize her dream.  It’s encouraging me to find a dream and realize it.

And speaking of books and indies, and inspiration, I just finished reading “This is Where I Leave You” by Jonathan Tropper.  I highly recommend to any person who likes this blog.  I also highly recommend that you buy it through the following link, which will ship to you directly from your closest independent bookstore.


Shop Indie Bookstores

And as a final act of inspiration, of the workout type, tonight is free pizza night at the gym!

17 responses to this post.

  1. Eh, it’s almost to the point where it will start snowing again (we got snow over the weekend in the mountains) so I say keep the theme. ;o)

    Love the hair, love the cupcakes, love the bookstore, love it all.

    xox

    I don’t want it to snow yet. Not at all.

  2. Love the hair!

    Good call on not going to your reunion. I went to mine and it was a big waste of money. And time. And I wore a dress!

    10 years is not long enough to turn high school douches into normal human beings. I hear at the 20-year reunion, it is better.

    Oh yeah, there’s no way I was paying money to go to that thing!

  3. Posted by Jennifer M. on September 14, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    Your hair looks awesome! As for your seasonally incorrect template, I feel like a freshman confused about seeing a play that takes place at Christmas in a month other than December. . .

    So inappropriate!

  4. Love the hair! It’s super cute!

    Thanks!

  5. I’ve always loved your hair short, but I will admit to liking my own long right now. So grow away, friend! I love the blond.

    Like all terrible make-over contestants, I just wanna put it in a ponytail!

  6. Posted by SisterAlyson on September 14, 2009 at 2:55 pm

    I like the hair! Max rocks!

    He so does.

  7. Scorching hotness.

    Why thank you.

  8. Someone is opening an indie bookstore rather than closing one?? That can only be a sign of good things to come. For you, I mean. And anyone else in the general vicinity. 🙂

    There are so many good indies opening and still hanging on!

  9. Hey, the cupcake business sounds like it would be fun! Cupcakes + money = happy Noelle. That is math I can get behind.

    I’m glad you blew off your high school reunion. I didn’t go to mine either. I wasn’t invited. Seriously.

    Your hair looks great!

    I tried to not be invited, but they found me anyway.

  10. Ooh! A new indie bookstore! Every time one opens an angel gets his . . . actually, I really hate that movie, but I do love a good indie bookstore!

    Your hair looks awesome! I am all about experiencing life as a blonde. I don’t know that I’ll be going back, really.

    Can’t wait to hear more about what you’re up to. 🙂

    Blondes have more fun, and hopefully more employment opportunities.

  11. I didn’t realize you were still blogging until yesterday & so glad you are. Losing track of the days…..yeah, I can relate. The worst part about jobhunting, IMO, is that seamlessness between week/weekend. Stoopid recession.

    I am back. I missed it too much.

  12. the (your) hair looks fantastic on you!!!

  13. Posted by EvilKate on September 16, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE the hair!!!

  14. OMG, I love Magnolia Bakery. I love indie bookstores. I love your hair. I’m just so full of love today and I owe it all to you. You can thank me by sending me cupcakes. No, really. Send me cupcakes.

  15. Here’s the thing: read your post, enjoyed as always, but if you mention cupcakes — or worse yet, opening a cupcake joint — my mind goes off the rails, and every subsequent words reads as “cupcake” (and I hear it over and over again in my head in a Cookie Monster voice). I just left a comment on NPW’s blog asking for scones, so I think this means I’m hungry.

    Hey: hair’s looking good, though, btw.

  16. Posted by lily on September 19, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    The hair looks great! I also read “This Is Where I Leave You” and loved it.

  17. Love, love, love your hair, and I noticed that book at the store the other day and it has become my mission to read ever since. I just have to finish the book I’m reading now. I’m so glad you’re recommending it.

Leave a Reply

