Well, to be honest I’ve never been so scared. But at least I have a husband.

I just got off the phone with a friend who I hadn’t talked to in a while, and he asked me how things were going, specifically with my love life.  I told him,

“You know, I’m getting to a place where I can see where I’m going and I’m feeling really happy about where I am, and I have great friends.  I can’t really complain about much except that I can’t find someone to love, and it gets really lonely around here.  Oh, and I suppose I’m not happy about the massive stack of crippling debt I incurred since my company went out of business last year.  But that only bothers me because I don’t have a loved one around the house to complain to about my massive stack of crippling debt.”

Also, it would be nice if I could outsource my laundry.  How does anyone get anything done working a full time job?

7 responses to this post.

  1. I used to make fun of the people who dropped their laundry off to the little Asian couple down the road from me and picked it up washed and folded. Now I wish I still lived down the road from that little Asian couple because damn, dryers take a long time.

  2. Oh man, laundry and housework in general is the bane of my existence. And, on the bright side, you don’t have someone there to make “I’m trying really hard not to be grossed out by the fact that you’re still wearing that shirt even after you spilled soup down the front of it,” faces.

  3. Posted by SisterAlyson on October 15, 2009 at 10:38 am

    Is that title from Airplane? LOVE IT!

  4. Posted by Kate on October 15, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    Ha! You know, unemployment is surprisingly busy. At least for me it is. I never have time for the darn laundry and as much as I HATE, HATE the laurdromat, I’ve taken to going there only for that fact that I can do like six loads at once and it doesn’t take up a whole day. But ugh. ugh.

  5. We bring our laundry to a service, they wash/dry/fold it, we pay them money and pick it up, we continue on with our lives. It’s worth it to us. I think it’s 80 cents a pound for us. Soooo worth it.

  6. Posted by lizgwiz on October 16, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    I have often thought that as much as I would like a lovely, functional committed relationship, I would actually get more benefit from having a 1950s TV housewife of my very own.

  7. outsourcing laundry? SIGN ME UP!

    Oh, and I TOTALLY understand the love thing. I’m so afraid of even trying to find a good relationship that I sabotage things before they even get started.

    Ugh.

Leave a Reply

