Triple Date

I promise that all my posts aren’t going to be about being single, but I wanted to share a funny.

The other day my friends and I were out to dinner, comprised of a dating couple, a married couple, and another single gal.  When the bill came we were trying to figure out who owed who what and how to split.  Somehow we all owed money to the dating couple, and the married couple was trying to figure out whose turn it was to pay.  He told her that he bought last time, and she was trying to convince him that he owed her dinner because they’ve been married for over a year now.  I think there was some kind of dowry talk or something.

I just sat there quietly because I had squared up with everyone already, and being single, I didn’t have to worry about keeping tabs on who paid what when.  I always pay for myself.  I told the group, “When I finally start dating someone, I’m going to make him pay for like a hundred dinners as a repayment for keeping me waiting this long.”

12 responses to this post.

  1. Oh GOD I hate splitting the check. Nothing makes me more anxious. I laughed out loud (literally) at your final quip.

    Also: LOVE the new look! I’m sure I’ve seen it, but I can’t remember.

    Aaaaand I’ve been drinking too much lately.

  2. Uggghhh …. when are married people going to learn a joint account is the best way and why didn’t you guys split the bill?

  3. how is splitting the check when you’re married difficult. doesn’t your money come from the same place? @knot – i agree, if you’re married and don’t have a joint account, i think there are some trust issues, haha.

  4. Ha! Good call.

  5. Posted by Noelle on October 20, 2009 at 9:48 am

    Knot & Jason – I think the issue was that they wanted to pay with cash, which didn’t come out of the account, because they both had cashed portions of their paychecks, or something.

    Also, they were joking around.

  6. darn straight! let’s hope he enjoys eating out!!!

  7. I love your last comment. And frankly, you’re worth at least 1,000 dinners. 🙂

  8. I pretty much always pay for the Hubs. He just doesn’t think of it. Of course, it really doesn’t matter. And since he’s designing my book website, sometimes we talk business and get to call it a business dinner (we really do talk business, it’s not a lie).

    Yeah, the Future Mr. Tannenbaum totally owes you.

  9. That is an excellent plan! I never thought of it that way, but I will have to inform Rob that this is why I do not bother splitting tabs with him.

    As an side, really? Married couples argue over whose turn it is to pay? Our money goes into one pot and comes out of one pot, the end.

  10. I am equally baffled by the married people squabbling over who pays. But I think your rationale for your future boyfriend is rock solid. Good plan.

  11. Posted by Erikka on October 22, 2009 at 10:42 am

    So you’re cute AND you’re funny. Men must be boneheads or at short dispense in your area…or even WOMEN for that matter. They could be mackin’ it to you too. Unless you send off very clear “straight” vibes.

  12. I really like this idea…a lot.

Leave a Reply

