Go with the FLOW

Having a “pinectomy” is so much easier and less painful than having them put in.  In fact, 18 hours later, I’m already able to hobble around without crutches, although I’m trying to be just a little ginger about things.  However, the actual pain of the incision and my ankle at large is less painful than oh, say: the spot on my hand where the nurse tried and failed to put an IV into my freakishly flat and veins, the reaction I had to the painkillers last night, not being able to swim until after getting the stitches out, and the fact that I’ve agreed to spend the entire weekend in New Jersey.

(Don’t get me wrong, spending time with the fam is great, especially when they’re taking care of me, but there’s just something about this town that makes me shudder…)

7 responses to this post.

  1. hooray, happy pin removal day!

  2. Maybe you’ll get lucky and spot a Jonas Brother. What a treat that would be.

  3. I hope you feel better soon, both inside and outside your ankle.

  4. Posted by Grey Boy on November 6, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    Yeh, congrats! Hobble happily! (Did you get to keep the pins as a souvenir like kids do with teeth?!)

  5. Although I knew you were getting your pins out, I read this as PINE-ectomy. And I was wondering what it had to do with trees.

  6. IV insertion is often a long and drawn-out step in the process. glad it’s over!

  7. Yay, glad you feel better.

Leave a Reply

