2010

There’s no debate: I’m a “twenty-ten”er.  Just like we said “nineteen-ten” 100 years ago, I think we should keep that up.  Especially since nobody is taking me up on my idea of calling the ’00’s the “ands.”  So why say “two thousand ten?”  Silly.  Too many syllables.

We’ll all appreciate that truncation by 2086, which may also be the next time the Mets win the World Series.

As promised, I rang in the new year with Chinese food and went to bed by 10:30.  It was great, especially the part where I was well-rested in time to clean my apartment all day and reward myself with leftovers.  Plus, there was a nice little bonus that I ate the Chinese food with an old friend that I bumped into at the gym, and that friend had access to martinis, which go surprisingly well with Lo Mein and Moo Shu Shrimp.

I already completed my first resolution of furminating the cat, and tape-rolling all the clothes in my closet.  Tomorrow I vacuum all the surfaces, and that should buy me about a week of showing up at work looking like a put-together professional.  Also, I’ll be making bread, and maybe continuing my quest to learn CSS.  Can’t wait to see what happens!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Courtney on January 3, 2010 at 9:46 am

    You are productive in the new year! So far I’ve sat on the couch a lot.

  2. Yeah, Courtney and I seem to be on the same page this new year. Making bread sounds pretty delicious though, maybe I’ll try that out.

  3. Posted by badger reader on January 4, 2010 at 11:39 am

    Yay bread! I always think I should make bread more often, but then I remember that I tend to devour a whole loaf by myself in less than 24 hours. Making bread, like ice cream, is good in theory, but my lack of willpower deems it necessary to only make on occasions where it will be shared.
    I stripped and laundered all my bedding this weekend and had it cat free for about 4 minutes. I realized I left the bedroom light on after remaking the bed and when I went back in the room I saw a lump under the covers. #%$@*! cat… Screw the furminator, I think I am going to just shave the cat.

  4. Happy New Year!

    I didn’t make it past 11 on NYE. It was really nice to wake up on the 1st not the least bit tired or hungover. I think that’s a way better way to start the year.

    Is the furminator worth it? I think we may need one.

  5. Happy new year twenty-ten!

  6. Twenty-10 sounds right. Unless we can call it “The Year of the Crimson Tide” but that would be a booger to write on checks.

    No resolutions here, just the USUAL goal – lose some bloomin’ weight.

    Happy New Year Noelle!

Leave a Reply

