I think my cat is looking at me with pity.

Not a good sign: assigning complex human emotions to long-haired domesticated felines.  But seriously, she keeps looking at me with her big green eyes, and I think she’s encouraging me to get a life.  Or at least stop wearing my woolly hat indoors long after I’ve come in from the cold.  But if I remove it, my hair will become static-y and my head will lose all its heat.

Maybe she just feels bad for me because I’ve yet to procure a kitchen table and I’m eating my breakfast at my desk, which is a step up from eating it on the couch, but she is actually convinced that eating from a plate on the floor is posh.

Or maybe she’s just laughing at me because I spent a few hours sweeping and mopping my floors yesterday and she’s 1) already covered it with hair and 2) noticed that I accidentally stepped one muddy boot on the shiny clean hardwood when I stumbled in the door just now.

But possibly she’s just better than me because I’m willing to stoop so low as to clean her poop out of a box and she knows she’s got me.

In reality, I just realized she’s jealous of my woolly hat and wants to play with the tassels.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Ha!

    I have any of these same thoughts about my kid. However, he doesn’t shed all over our house, which is a nice perk.

  2. Your cat sure does give you a lot to think about.

  3. at least she’s there to keep you company.

  4. You wear your hat inside? You do realize most apartments these days come with thermostats, right?

  5. I wear my hat inside sometimes. It’s that whole cheap with the energy bill thing. And, the stranger I look at home, the less I make up unnecessary excuses to leave the house when I should be working. 🙂

  6. i’m going to continue believing that there is totally nothing wrong with eating on the couch.

  7. I eat most of my dinners on my living room floor, so I’ll totally buy your cat’s theory that eating on the floor is posh. Not that I should take lifestyle cues from a cat. Then again, maybe I should. Cats do have that nap thing, after all…

Leave a Reply

