Double Dog Dare

You know why I don’t blog anymore?  Other than because it’s no longer 2007, the year when blogging was cool… (And as opposed to 2008, the year blogging was popular) it’s because I work 45 minutes away from home, and by the time I get here and there, I’m just exhausted, and the words, they don’t come. 

So that’s my excuse that I’m sticking to until I get a job in my own county, on the proper side of the Hudson River.  At that point, I’ll come up with some other excuse.

I did think I should take a moment to let everyone know that I’m still eating meat, and since this was a beautiful day, I walked to the hot dog stand two blocks from my office.  I purchased what is known as a “double dog” which can be described as “two dogs, one bun.”  There was also relish on it, and I got a soda, all for less than four dollars and fifty-six cents.  (It set me back $4.55.) 

This was the first hot dog I’ve had since two weeks ago, which was the first hot dog I’ve had in thirteen years.  They were both blog-worthy.  But this was the only one that I ate so fast, I still had 10 minutes left on my lunch break to blog about it. 

How was it?  Salty.  Savory.  I almost choked once when I forgot to chew.  The bun fell apart towards the end, and I loved it.  I will atone by listening to “The Omnivore’s Dilemma” on CD during my drive home to hear all about how my double dog is completely unsustainable.  Then I will forage for berries for dinner, just for the karma of it all.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Don’t feel too bad, there’s not that much meat in a hot dog.

  2. Posted by Courtney on March 9, 2010 at 10:36 pm

    Sigh — it makes me sad when people say blogging isn’t cool anymore, because that means I am not cool because I am still a blogger. But then I realize I am not, nor have I ever been, cool. So all is right with the world.

  3. Hot dog stand hot dogs (and hot dogs at the ballpark) are the BEST!

  4. Yeah, I am all for flaunting my lack of cool. 🙂 Although, I still blog a lot less than I used to.

    Good for you for finding moderation and keeping the joy in your eating. I think that’s REALLY important.

  5. The commute’s been my excuse for going on two years now. Which means I should get a new job. Or maybe blogging is truly dead and it doesn’t matter. I just can’t muster the enthusiasm to care one way or another. Which is sad. And yet totally not.

  6. Posted by Grey Boy on March 17, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    Wasn’t “two dogs, one bun” your nickname in college?

  7. Well, there’s always Posterous. That takes practically no time, and you can even update from your iPhone. Or so I hear. I don’t have an iPhone because I, too, am not cool.

  8. Two hot dogs in one bun?! I have never seen this phenomenon, but now I feel the need to recreate it in my kitchen. BUST OUT THE GRILLS!

Leave a Reply

