shhhhh….

I totally got my voice back, but I’m still going to type something here.  That’s because I just found a lead on what might be the perfect job for me in the entire world.  What are my three favorite things in no particular order?  Swimming, eating, and sleeping. 

I don’t know of a world-famous sleep lab in my neighborhood, but I do know of a world-famous school of eating that’s not but a stone’s throw from my home.  To make this post less Google-able, let’s call that place the Ulinary-Cay Nstitute-Iay of Erica-May.  AKA, not the C.entral I.ntelligence A.gency.  The other place with the same acronym.  The Harvard and Yale of cooking schools (according to the guy who wrote “Heat”). 

And do you know what they have there at that school?  A pool.  For the students to use!  And the professors!  And sometimes the local Masters swimmers who know people who used to go there so they feel like it’s okay to sneak in and swim!  Not that I ever did! 

And who is that pool currently looking to hire part time?

Lifeguards. 

Yeah.  I didn’t even know that was an option when I signed up for the certification class.  But yes, I did put in an application when I found out about the opening.  And I’m never, ever going to tell you if I got that job or not, because that would be talking about work on the blog.  But someday, if you’re going through my archives, and this post isn’t there, you’ll know that it’s been deleted because I am working at a pool at the place where they make food happen.  While trying not to fall asleep.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Seriously? That’s so perfect!

  2. Posted by badger reader on April 23, 2010 at 11:29 am

    Well if I email you to ask where this post went, you will know I am the creepy person from across the country avoiding work by searching your archives. I hope you get it and reap all those fabulous perks!

  3. That would be AWESOME!

  4. Posted by Courtney on April 23, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    Suh-weeeet! I hope you get it!

  5. This will be the perfect opportunity for you to introduce your love of cooking to the pool! Surely even such an esteemed institution as that has that one crazy faculty member that would be open to the idea of adding some classes to the curriculum like “Sauteeing From the Deep End” or “Diving and Deep Frying 101: Keeping the chlorine out of your oil and the oil out of the pool (prerequisites required.)” All spearheaded by their new renaissance lifeguard!

  6. Posted by Kate on April 27, 2010 at 8:49 pm

    Crossing my fingers for you.

  7. Posted by Anaka Johnston on May 2, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    Oh, this would an all too perfect job! I like Mickey’s response…I might take those classes.

Leave a Reply

