Thank You Deborah

For a long time, I’ve wanted to ask if I’m the only one who has seen the 80’s flick “Just One of the Guys.”  And is there anyone else who’s seen this movie more than once?  More than a dozen times?  More times than “Teen Witch?”

Because if you spent significant time between the years 1987 and 1994 being a complete couch potato, then you know that “Just One of the Guys” was on basic cable in heavy, heavy rotation.  As much as I wouldn’t have admitted it, I think this movie about a high school girl who dresses as a guy to win a newspaper internship has helped shape me as a woman.  That’s why I though it was so cool that Jezebel recently re-reviewed this piece of dubious film making in a recent post sub-titled An 80’s Stealth Feminist Sex Comedy.  Furthermore, they chatted with the director, who made the film with complete pro-woman purpose.  (Click over to that second link to view the famous balls scene.  And the famous scene, “it’s okay, he’s got tits” which is NSFBasic Cable.)

Because of this movie, I learned:

  • A pretty girl can possibly have a brain.
  • Fish like french bread pizza
  • All balls itch.  It’s a fact.
  • Mr. Perfect is better when he’s Mr. History.
  • The refrigerator gives new meaning to the word “empty.”
  • You can fix a broken earring with an eraser.
  • Vonnegut is best read in the bubble bath.
  • And probably numerous other lessons that I’m not thinking of at this exact moment, but hope you will remember and leave in the comments, because I’m no longer willing to live in a world where I’m the only one who knows and loves this movie.

Now pardon me while I go dance to James Brown.

12 responses to this post.

  1. I want to say that I’ve never seen that movie because I don’t remember it at all, but I know almost all of those “life lessons”, so maybe I have and just repressed it?

  2. I’ve seen it! Multiple times. And yes, more times than “Teen Witch” (0 times).

  3. If you want to see it, it’s now available on Hulu. I highly recommend.

  4. Wait, this sounds an awful lot like the more recent cinematic gem “She’s the Man” starring Amanda Bynes. There’s AT LEAST TWO of this movie? I am filled with shame for mankind.

  5. I remember this movie, and I loved it as well! I completely forgot about it until I read your post a few minutes ago! I may just have to go watch it again one of these days.

  6. Posted by Jason on April 27, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    My male coworker loves that movie, and puts in his top 5 80’s movies haha

  7. Why is Courtney familiar with the Amanda Bynes canon?

    And no, I don’t recall the movie. If it was never on the Disney Sunday Night Movie, I probably never saw it.

  8. NO! I missed that one and the life lessons too. Darn!

    Instead, I watched ‘Say Anything’ and learned that you can marry a guy that your parents don’t like and live happily ever after. That the right song can change your heart and mind. That you can love and still walk away.

    hmm, those lessons are a little schmoozy and dramatic. But the girl had brains in Say Anything as well.

  9. Posted by lizgwiz on April 28, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    I, too, have seen that movie many, many times.

    I would like to see it again now, if only for the rockin’ 80s fashion choices.

  10. Posted by Erikka on May 4, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    i saw this movie! and refer to it more often than seems normal 🙂 however, I can’t name any life lessons from it.

  11. Oh! I LOVED that movie!!!!!

  12. The eraser earring back! I learned that trick the exact same way–that movie’s classic 80’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

