I’m gonna write my way out of here

When you only blog once a month, it’s so hard to start out a post without somehow recognizing that fact.  Many sentences with the theme of “I just don’t have the time…  I’m not as into sharing with the world as I used to be…  Just thought you might want some updates…” have just gone through my head as way to start this post, because just starting without noting my infrequent blogging, that’s like jumping into a cold pool all at once.

Speaking of, guess who’s certified to lifeguard and CPR at pools!  This girl!  On Wednesday, I’ll be taking the test to see if I can also lifeguard at waterfronts.  This test is also at the pool.  As of now, I am not employed anywhere with this certification, but everyone around me is just a little safer.

I’m still competing, too.  There’s two more meets this season, and I think that the meat eating experiment is working well.  Two weeks ago, I accomplished my goal of doing the 100 freestyle faster than 1:14.  I did it in 1:11.61.  It would have been even cooler if I had done it a little slower, becasue 1:11.78 would have been my birthday.  But that’s the only time you’ll hear me say I want to go slower. 

Lately I’ve been trying to assess what I want to be when I grow up.  I’m still stung from the job loss a year and a half ago, because that really was perfect for me in so many ways.  There’s always this voice in the back of my head telling me I should be a writer.  Because “novelist” is a classic back-up job.  All I can say is I went to the DMV yesterday to renew my car registration (it only took 5 minutes, but cost half a day’s pay) and I actually momentarily thought it might be fun to work at the DMV.  Maybe I was just jealous because their printer was working, and it was very fast, and ours is not.

Other than that, in the past month I neither got engaged, pregnant, or got someone else pregnant.  I didn’t convert to a new religion, and nobody I’m close to died or was born.  Saturn is still out of business, and Battlestar Galactica is off the air.  Lucy the cat is still cute, devistatingly so sometimes.  I have not broken any bones or cars in at least 90 days.  Oh, and Birmingham?  Back in the picture.  Just please don’t ask us to caption that picture.  We’re simply having fun spending time together, creating witty banter.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Grey Boy on May 18, 2010 at 4:01 pm

    Please call me before you assume you didn’t get anyone pregnant. Our trip to the farm was bountiful. Bah.

  2. It seems like we’re on the same page with so many things. Except you have a Birmingham and I don’t. Where can I pick one of those up?

  3. Posted by Courtney on May 18, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    I didn’t blog for a month either, but I just jumped right back in there as if no one would notice I’d been gone for so long. I say blog when you feel like it, and congrats on the lifeguard certification!

  4. I think it’s okay to just jump back in too.

    Yay for Birmingham!

    Also, HOLY PREGNANT PEOPLE! I swear every other Facebook status I see is people announcing that they are expecting.

    Congratulations on the lifeguard/CPR certification! That’s really awesome. And if you decide to go in the novelist direction, let me know. I’ll send you insane amounts of information and reading lists. 🙂

  5. Posted by erikka on May 19, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    yea, seriously, can we form a group that celebrates NOT getting pregnant, NOT getting married, and STILL BEING SUCCESSFUL and HAPPY!?! Sigh. I am so supportive and not anti-any of those concepts or institutions, however, I am just sick of people ONLY getting together for THOSE reasons. As those my reasons are 1) lame 2) not as important or 3) … not important.

    Just wrote about this today.

  6. Posted by erikka on May 19, 2010 at 2:47 pm

    um … my comment lost rationality toward the end there. I think I was trying to say “as though other reasons for getting together are ….” Meaning, my reasons for my recent failed attempt at a social gathering.

    gosh. i am a sad little writer right now. 🙂

  7. Posted by Anaka Johnston on May 20, 2010 at 12:36 am

    Yay for friendly banter and life guarding! Stay away from the DMV–long lines and fluorescent lighting is never a good thing no matter how wonderful the printer may be…

  8. I am that person who has such a love/hate relationship with her job that things like DMV, postal worker, McDonald’s hamburger flipper, office job — fill in the blank here — always look greener than what I’m doing now. Besides, at the DMV you have so much POWER.

    And yeah, I’m so sick of my friends’ facebook profile photos being sonogram photos. NOT INTERESTED.

Leave a Reply

