Updates with a bullet

My little sister got married well over a month ago, so let me refresh this blog with news.  Hmmm… what news?

  • My cat is still adorable.  That’s not news.  This is a recent picture of her wearing my swim cap:
  • Do not try to resist the vortex of cute.  It will suck you in.  I have literally lost hours of my life watching her be cute.
  • Speaking of swimming, it’s going really well.  I’ve had two meets this season, and it was almost all personal best times.  If you need me any given day from 6am-7am, I’ll be underwater.
  • I’m reading Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann, which takes place around the time of the famous tightrope walk between the Twin Towers.  It’s fantastic.  Read it if you can, especially if you enjoyed watching “Man on Wire.”  It’s the kind of book that makes it OK to have a 2-hour commute.
  • Christmas is almost here!  So I made my annual Advent Calendar:
  • I cannot wait for the 3rd when I get to eat that cookie.  I haven’t really done anything to deserve it, except purchase it.
  • Speaking of food, we cooked Thanksgiving dinner at my parent’s house for the first time since… I was born.  (We’ve been at restaurants for years, and relatives’ houses before that.)
  • Birmingham and I did not spend the day together, but we did phone each other and pretended to listen to “Alice’s Restaurant” until I had to go and baste the turkey. I hope I that’s not too disappointing, Badger Reader!
  • One last photo that makes me wish I blog every day, because one needs to share this stuff:
  • This is a new sandwich shop near where I work.  Is it just me, or does that look like a dog with his ass on fire?  Who double checks these things?
  • Speaking of work, I feel like there was one other thing I was supposed to mention…
  • What was it?
  • That my job sucks and I feel like I haven’t had meaningful work going on two years now?
  • Yeah, but that’s not news….  There was something…
  • Wait, I remember now…

I GOT A NEW JOB!!!!!

…breathless… OK, and not just a new job.  Not insurance, not a struggling non-profit that’s micromanaged to the hilt, but at a place I’ve wanted to work for years.  Without naming it by name, it’s the trade organization that represents all the independent booksellers in America.  And it’s based right here in the Hudson Valley, if you consider a place that’s 2 hours from my apartment via train and bus and technically in Westchester still part of the Hudson Valley.  (It’s an hour 15 minutes by car.)  But all conversations on if I’m going to leave my awesome apartment 5 minutes from the pool and in a town I love and that has a lease on that goes through to October 2011 aside, I’m so excited about this opportunity that I’m almost in denial.

My official start date is December 13, and in the meantime, I’m going there to visit and start on-boarding in the intervening Tuesdays, which makes Wednesdays back at my current job way difficult.  It’s like returning to Kansas after spending a few hours in Oz.  But then I know that in 2011 I’ll be working in Oz, and I hope to never have to explain to my boss that I used brackets in a thank you letter because I altered text in a quote, and it’s not just that the font is making those parentheses look square.  Also, the work I’ll be doing is really interesting, and I’ll be communicating with both publishers and booksellers, including a bunch that I’ve known from past jobs.  And it’s a place where people work for a long time, and for the first time I’m taking a job not because I think it will lead to something better, but because I see myself staying there and having a career.

And I already told them about the blog.  It’s that kind of place.  So hello, new co-workers, if you came over!  And thanks for reading everyone else!

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jennifer M. on November 29, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    Congrats on the new job!

    My 18 mile commute has been known to take 100 minutes involving lots of no moving but no opportunity to (safely) get any reading done.

    You should be marketing those awesome advent calendars – kudos for having the will power to have leftover Halloween candy by the time December rolls around.

  2. The job news is so exciting!

  3. YAY! Even though I already knew this, I’m so happy for you!

  4. Congrats!! This is so exciting!! What a fantastic bullet point! 😉

    xox

  5. YAY ON THE JOB!!!! THIS IS GREAT NEWS!!!

    Also, can I be an obnoxious bride for a moment? I saw your sister’s pictures (did you post them here? The Book of Faces?) and was wondering where she got her veil. Do you happen to know?

    Thanks (and sorry), and CONGRATULATIONS!!!!

  6. This is awesome! I’m so glad to see you so happy!

    And that sign more specifically looks like the dog is FARTING fire. I’m not sure I want a sandwich that’s gonna make me do that.

  7. So so so excited for you!!!!!! They are lucky to have you on board!

    The MG’s comment just made me snarf coffee. Also, I think the fact that Rita’s sells happiness is maybe something to address, but it’s too early in the morning for those kinds of jokes. 🙂

  8. Congrats!!! That’s so fun!

  9. Congrats on the new job! I love your Advent calendar. I like the idea of mandated treats each day. 🙂 My son has a Lego Advent calendar that he is very excited to get started with tomorrow.

  10. Posted by BadgerReader on December 1, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    Amazeballs! Congratulations on the exciting new job. That commute totally blows so I hope there are loads of other fantastic elements to help balance it out. Also, the call-out totally made my day – glad you and Birmingham still got in an Alice moment for the occasion. So what was the best part of the homemade Thanksgiving meal? The advent calendar and fireass dog sign are great, but where is everyone’s love for the kitty cuteness? (yep, very adorable!)

  11. Congrats on the new gig! Regarding the long commute: Podcasts. Also: Audiobooks :).

    Today is the last day of my long commute – 1.1mile commute starts Monday. We’ll see if living down the road from work is a good thing or bad thing 🙂

    Congrats again!

  12. Firfarts. It’s common in that breed.

    Congratulations on the job! And the swimming! And the cookie (I hope it lived up to expectations.)

Leave a Reply

