To Float Among the Waves

It’s day two of the post-a-day challenge, and I’m already resorting to WordPress’ topic suggestions.  Today, they wanted to know what my best accomplishment of 2010 was.  It’s a good topic, because I was already thinking about writing about swimming today.  I love to swim so much that it doesn’t feel like a chore, as every other form of exercise always has felt like one.  In fact, I swam 3,000 yards today just to kick off the New Year, even thought it doesn’t quite get me to my 1-mile-a-day goal, but I’ll fix that tomorrow morning at regular swim practice.

Even though I drove many miles to swim for over an hour straight, I still feel like a slacker because I didn’t swim as hard as I could and then I went home and slept for an hour and a half.  But this time last year, to swim 3,000 yards at today’s effort level would have taken me an hour and 15 minutes.

I still have a ways to go with my swimming.  The people in the lane next to me were doing a 2-hour workout, 100 100’s on 1:30.  (Perspective for non-swimmers: I did 5 100’s on 1:30 before I could do no more.)  That workout is as boring as it is impressive, however, so I’m not even going to set that as a goal.  Just a thing I’d like to honestly say, “I could do that, but I’m not gonna.”

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Man Of Action on January 2, 2011 at 6:28 pm

    How about a discussion of last month’s borderline-brilliant (although I’m not a 100% supporter of Sady’s politics) Tigerbeatdown article on trend pieces in the NYTimes?

    http://tigerbeatdown.com/2010/12/03/sexist-beatdown-exciting-trends-in-loserdom-edition/

  2. Posted by Man Of Action on January 2, 2011 at 6:29 pm

    Oh, and update your blog profile!

  3. Posted by elizabeth on January 2, 2011 at 6:44 pm

    Yeah! A daily blog! I love 2011 already!

  4. Every time I’m in a running routine some random friend tries to get me to sign up for a marathon or half-marathon. I’m like thanks, but no thanks, I’ll stick to my 5ks. Pushing yourself is good, but there’s a point where it’s just insane.

  5. I was on my high school swim team for a year, and on the first day back at practice after the winter break, our coach made us do 95 100’s (in honor of the new year being 1995.) You can chalk that up to the list of things I never want to do again.

  6. Man of Action – thanks for the link. And the gentle advice. Getting there!

    Elizabeth – you’re welcome.

    Modern Gal – I just don’t understand running any distance at all, so I’m totally impressed with your 5K. When the sport stops being fun, it’s no longer a hobby!

    Courtney – That sounds awful. Maybe I’ll do 11 100’s for 2011, and that’s about my limit.

Leave a Reply

