No Day Like A Snow Day

I had neither swim practice nor work today.  It was one of those mornings where I woke up and looked out the window, and it looked like nothing was happening, and that the forecasters were all wrong.  And then by 8:00 there were two inches on the ground already.  I think when it was said and done, I scraped about eight inches off my car.

Note: one of my biggest goals in life is to own a garage.  I will know that I have made it and will probably not yearn for more when the day comes that I don’t have to wipe snow off my car.

I was sort of productive with my day off.  In addition to some work for work, I tackled projects as important and time-consuming as:

  • sorting all the extra buttons and yarn that came with my Banana Republic purchases
  • looking through my junk box for items to hot-glue on my retractable ID badge holder
  • sorting through my files to decide what to shred
  • Googling for local paper shredding companies
  • taking down 20% of my Christmas decorations
  • locating a new bread recipe, with full intent to bake it.  Later.
  • Finishing my book (The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo), and immediately watching the movie version on Netflix while reading the article about the author in the most recent edition of the New Yorker, which finally reached me today, a week or so after actual New Yorkers received it.

Oh, and then my friend & I braved the snow (in his Subaru) to go swim across the river.  That is, we swam in a pool that’s on the other side of the river, we didn’t actually dip into the Hudson, only because those mini-icebergs are mighty dangerous to navigate, especially in inclement weather.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Ha, I just LOLed at your last paragraph. For a second I was all, “YOU SWAM ACROSS THE HUDSON RIVER IN THE SNOW, WHAT?!?”

  2. Your day sounds lovely, and I am so with you on the garage thing–I’ll know I’ve made it when I have a garage and dishwasher.

    xox

Leave a Reply

