Today

By all accounts, it was a slow day over here.  But then that horrible thing in Arizona happened, and it’s the kind of thing I’ve been worried about for a while.  I don’t know what to make of it yet, but I’ve been most impressed by the words of Sheriff Clarence Dupnik:

“When you look at unbalanced people, how they respond to the vitriol that comes out of certain mouths about tearing down the government. The anger, the hatred, the bigotry that goes on in this country is getting to be outrageous. And, unfortunately, Arizona I think has become sort of the capital. We have become the Mecca for prejudice and bigotry.

“It’s not unusual for all public officials to get threats constantly, myself included. And that’s the sad thing of what’s going on in America. Pretty soon, we’re not going to be able to find reasonable, decent people who are willing to subject themselves to serve in public office.”

I’m really, really glad that it looks like the Congresswoman is going to live, and deeply saddened that so many others were killed and injured.  Anything that threatens to take away more of our freedom from living without fear is awful to me.

For now, I’m grateful that my life wasn’t directly affected, and that I was able to spend the afternoon with Birmingham walking my friend’s dog in the peaceful, quiet streets of a northern Hudson Valley town.  I’d like to think that the actions of a small number of crazy fringe individuals don’t keep changing our way of life in this pretty fantastic country.

 

3 responses to this post.

  1. His last sentence is something that’s been bothering me for some time. I think that’s the exact reason our government is so screwed up — because the smart people who would do the right thing don’t want to subject themselves to the crap.

  2. Good post on a really sucky event.

  3. I admire the sheriff’s statement as well. I wonder if it’ll serve him well, career-wise, or if he just committed political suicide by insulting his own state (though it was well-deserved.) I just hope certain politicians and pundits realize that by stirring up anger unnecessarily, they’re giving crazy people a reason to act on their craziness.

Leave a Reply

