Evil, Wonderful

I didn’t get a camera for my birthday.  I got treated to a dinner out with Birmingham at a local place.  But I didn’t get a camera.  So forgive the resolution of the following photo:

That’s my Foie Gras appetizer.  Amazing.  But I’m still a vegetarian at heart, because my favorite part about this dish was the brioche that held it all together.

I was having trouble deciding what to get as a main course to compliment such a formerly taboo delicacy.  And while I was thinking taboo…  I ordered the veal.  On the way out of the restaurant, as I wrapped myself in fur against the falling snow and clubbed a baby seal that was sitting in the way of our 12 miles to the gallon vehicle, I felt quite content.

Also, I had cheesecake for desert that was to die for, but there wasn’t much evil to it.

And, just in case we hadn’t played out the numerology of the 1’s of the date to death yet, check out the total on the receipt:

Birmingham is very generous, and I had a really happy birthday.  We toyed with the idea of leaving a 3 cent tip…

6 responses to this post.

  1. Meh, there are more baby seals on the melting polar ice caps, clubbing one or two won’t really matter in the long run. 😉

    Happy Birthday, and kudos to you for trying the decadent things!

    xox

  2. Well, if you can’t be evil on your birthday, then when can you? Happy 33rd!

  3. According to your receipt, it was not JUST cheesecake – It was pumpkin cheesecake. Very important detail to leave out – Yum!

    Happy birthday. 🙂

  4. It sounds like a great meal and all, but I bet somewhere down in the city there has to be at least one restaurant named Eleven. Or you could have dined at 7-11 (Nothing says “Happy 33rd” like a Big Gulp and a bean burrito.)

  5. Posted by BadgerReader on January 12, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    Yay! (Though I was really hoping for a more descriptive food review, the seal clubbing and monstrous vehicle details definitely made up for it.) Happy Birthday!

  6. Heidi – I think the ice caps can take it!

    Courtney – I think you can also be evil on your half-birthday, but only to a point.

    3Carn – So sad! They were actually out of pumpkin cheesecake. But they substituted it with vanilla cheesecake with a marmalade glaze that was OH MY GOODNESS. I didn’t realize the receipt didn’t get updated!

    Mikey – I’m glad you didn’t say that sooner, because there’s no telling how far I would have drove to go to a restaurant called Eleven.

    BadgerReader – I’m glad I made it up, because I really don’t like to write reviews. There’s so many ways to say, “tasty.”

Leave a Reply

