Another fun map of America

I want to get back into blogging, there’s really no reason I stopped last week other than I was busy…  But I wasn’t really busy, I was snowed in doing nothing, and lost the momentum.  So instead of getting wiring, I was just browsing around.  And I came across this fun map via AmericaBlog:

I feel like I’ve spent my whole life in the 100% soda regions, but it seems like there’s a large swath of the country who think “pop” is normal and have no regard for copyright law and call it “coke.”  Man, flyover country is weird.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Yep, here in Georgia, it’s Coke. You ask for a Coke, and someone says “What kind of Coke?” I couldn’t zoom in on the map far enough to tell which parts of Georgia were classified as “other,” but I have never been there.

  2. I live in Cokeland, but I would use the word soda long before I’d ever use the word pop. Usually I just say, you want something to drink? Or, you want a soft drink?

  3. I’m a “soda” gal from Maine. I ordered it on a plane once and got a glass of club soda. Yuck.

  4. What’s with St. Louis? It’s screwing up the Midwest!

  5. It is pop!

    I have lived in pop and soda areas. I switched to soda when I was out West because people don’t understand when you say “pop”.

  6. Posted by Jennifer M. on February 7, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    I’m assuming those breakdowns are at the county level? I’ve always been a soda person myself, though I get why Georgia is a coke kinda place. I’m guessing the soda:pop as taxi:cab? Can you find that map breakdown?

  7. Whether I’m drinking a Dr Pepper or a Mountain Dew, it’s always a “coke” for me.

  8. You mean to say Trademark law, not Copyright law. Thanks for sharing this!

  9. I live in Michigan by way of New York, and I get laughed at for saying soda instead of pop and sneakers instead of tennis shoes. The joke’s on them, because my husband, a native Michigander, now says soda and sneakers, and my son has never called them anything but that. I’m changing Michigan over, one person at a time.

  10. Alaska needs to get its shit together.

Leave a Reply

