The Third Day of December

Before yesterday, I had never eaten Brazil Nuts separately from mixed nuts.

Before yesterday, I had never gone to the bathroom in a composting toilet inside a trailer.

Before yesterday, I had never doled out large nuts one-by-one in 15-minute increments to help me get through a 3-hour grad school class.

Before yesterday, I had never met a seed librarian, let alone interviewed one, nor used that person’s facilities.

Before yesterday, I had never had worn these new boots.

Before yesterday, I had never stopped at the park-and-ride in Catskill to order a pizza from Two Boots across from Bard College for pick-up on my way home from Albany.*

Yesterday was a good day.

20121204-123806.jpg

*OK, I’ve actually done that before, anytime I feel inclined to celebrate a particularly good day of grad school under my belt.

Also, did you know that there is a scientific principle called “The Brazil Nut Effect” which studies why large objects rise to the top when they are within a group of smaller objects?

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Whitney on December 5, 2012 at 4:11 pm

    I’m kind of upset that you’ve decided to update your blog, because that means I won’t get to see Lola’s face every time I check to see if you’ve updated this thing. Now I have to scroll down four posts to see her. That’s nuts.

Leave a Reply

