On The Thirteenth Day of December

I wanted to make sure not to miss a day of posting, but I didn’t have it in me to think of the blog yesterday to report on the pecans I ate on Thursday.

20121215-143902.jpg

However, life marches on. I have nothing profound to add to the discussion except that this silly bit of counting down to Christmas gives me a little joy, and we rebound from tragedy through small acts of joy.

So here are some delicious pecans, the nuts my mother has been waiting for, which I ate while packing up my office, which is moving this week.

2 responses to this post.

  1. For what it’s worth, I don’t have an advent calendar or any Christmas countdown going this year, so your nuts are filling the role. I think nuts are as good a way as any to mark the passing of time.

  2. Posted by elizabeth on December 15, 2012 at 4:58 pm

    My grandfather died when I was four, and one of the few distinct memories I have of him is that he would take two walnuts in his hand and squeeze them together until one of them cracked. I thought that he was the strongest man alive!

    try it….. it actually works and besides getting to eat the fresh nuts inside, it releases a lot of tension, and as you said, every little bit helps these days.

Leave a Reply

