It’s no fun being a Mets fan

Rules of Kickball #10

If you want to win, don’t be on my team. Even if all the other players are MVP’s with magical athletic talent, we’ll still lose. I don’t know why this happens to me. Probably because kickers with talent are able to recognize me as the weak link and always aim the pop flies at my sorry ass (I swear I can catch when we’re just playing around!) Even teams that I’m rooting for never win. If a baseball game is on in a bar and I arbitrarily decide to pick the team with the nicest jerseys, they are doomed. It got me down pretty badly tonight. Even after the regulation game when I was on a pick-up team, I couldn’t get it together. There has got to be a way to make new Hudson Valley friends without having to subjugate myself to the torment that so often reminds me of why I hated school for the first twelve years.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Mocha on November 4, 2006 at 1:14 am

    Nope. Not really. Subjugating oneself to the very childhood torments they endured is nature’s way of saying, “ppppfffffttttt.”

    Just go and have fun. Fun never loses.

Leave a comment